Login

1964 proof cent

Ok, Ok. I know what my coin is. I recently went to a flea market and picked up a proof 1964 lincoln cent for $1. I looked at it under a microscope and it appears to be an MS-70. Before sending it to NGC, I called around to my favorite dealers. Only one was really interested. They wanted to know if it was a brown, red-brown, red, or cameo. It is either a red or deep cameo. The other dealers were not interested in "modern proof coins." One sold on ebay for $1,750, so I think they just didn't know. How much do you think this is worth and should I send it to NGC, should I sell it, and how should I sell it if I do. *all apparent scratches are on 2x2 Sorry they are sideways

1 month ago

you should send it! it looks awesome.

1 month ago

I'd send it as well, even the 2x2 looks ancient. Probably hasn't been exposed to air for decades.

1 month ago

I hope you get the grade you want. That would be terrific. I have been grading coins for about 15 years. The last sheet we keep I put the grade next to the coin. I have a 93% correct grades. Now I studied books and developed a system. I read NGC article on grading. Believe me they don't use a microscope either do i. They use a loop. If i thought a coin to be a MS 70. They go to a higher magnafication. That's were you will find that one mark. It breaks your heart. I use a halogen lite and the room is dark. These must be followed. You will see marks unfortunately under these conditions. I have in all this time never graded a MS 70. A proof yes. I encourage you to send it in and wish you all the luck. But grading is very hard. I have faith in you. Good luck.

1 month ago

A proof 68 Rd went for $14.00 on ebay yesterday. In a PCGS slab. Search the SOLD listings. That is where the truth lies. Good luck.

1 month ago

the 1750 one was in sold listings

1 month ago

Great. Good luck..

1 month ago