2016 Military Numismatists Scholarship Fund Supporting the Military Money Seminar at the 2016 American Numismatic Association Summer Seminar June 25th thru June 30th, 2016 (Session II) On the Campus of the Colorado College Colorado Springs, Colorado United States of America

Purpose: The purpose of the Military Numismatists Scholarship Fund is to promote, strengthen and grow the military numismatics community by sponsoring individuals to participate in the Military Numismatics Seminar at the American Numismatic Association Summer Seminar. Specifically targeted are newcomers to the hobby, individuals with an established interest but new to the military numismatics community, and advanced military numismatists, who are expected to contribute to the content and overall success of the course.

Basic Course: It will emphasize World War II, plus all series of U.S. military payment certificates. Worldwide war-related emissions by all powers (Allied, Axis, and neutral) will be treated, including those for overrun areas and puppet governments, fighting forces, liberation governments, and postwar occupations. Paper money, bonds, coins, and medals will be covered. Conflicts since WWII will be covered lightly. The segment on MPCs will be about 30% of the course, and will cover all aspects of their production, use, and collection.

Advanced Course: For students who have completed the basic Military Numismatics Course (or have permission of the instructors) an advanced "graduate seminar" style class runs concurrently with the basic class. Advanced course students, in addition to independent study and sharing reenactments with the basic course, will receive intensive instruction in short blocks including identifying and attributing notes and bonds that have no English on them. Students work independently on projects tailored to individual interests while also participating in the special "Fest" reenactments of the class.

Your Instructors: Joseph E. Boling and C. Frederick Schwan, co-authors *World War II Remembered, history in your hands--a numismatic study* and *World War II Military Currency*.

Eligibility: Anyone having a passion for military numismatics is welcome to apply for a scholarship. The selection committee will award scholarships based on information and responses to questions in the application. Inquires and/or applications can be sent to ksfdaf@sbcglobal.net

Past scholarship recipients are welcome to apply again, but will automatically be considered advanced numismatists and will be eligible for only 50% of their tuition reimbursement. Further, past recipients must clearly justify why they should be considered for another scholarship. Preference will be given to "basic course," first-time applicants. No one shall be awarded more than two scholarships from this program.

Costs Covered: The award of a scholarship carries a maximum value of \$1050 (USD.) \$1050 (you must register by March 31 or you will pay an additional \$50) covers tuition which includes the class, a room in Loomis Dormitory (double occupancy) for five nights (Saturday to Thursday), all of your meals, and free airport shuttles picking up and returning Seminar students to the Colorado Springs Airport. Scholarship does not cover transportation to and from Colorado Springs or airport shuttles from/to Denver. Anyone awarded a scholarship will be required to join the ANA at individual expense if not already a member. A one-year basic membership is \$28 with an online magazine.

Submitting an Application: To apply for a scholarship please submit the following information to Military Numismatists Scholarship, c/o Dan or Kathy Freeland, PO Box 195, Mayville, MI 48744, U.S.A. or ksfdaf@sbcglobal.net

Name

Address

Phone Number

E-mail address

Numismatic clubs in which you participate (include leadership positions held)

Significant numismatic exhibits (and awards)

Significant numismatic publications (and awards)

Explain your interest in military numismatics.

What do you hope to gain from attending this seminar?

Describe contributions you can make to the success of the class.

The information you provide in your application is the ONLY information the reviewers will consider in evaluating applications. Scholarships will not be awarded simply because funding is available. You must submit a <u>quality</u> application to be seriously considered. Don't be afraid to brag about yourself!! This is a highly competitive program. Applications will be judged by an impartial committee. All decisions of the committee will be final.

Recipients are requested to volunteer for service to future scholarship programs and are expected to write at least one report of the experience for publication in a numismatic journal. Award of a scholarship includes the likelihood of publishing your name and some general background information.

Please have applications in the hands of the Freelands by Feb. 27th, 2016. For applicants outside the US requiring invitations for visas, please coordinate your needs with the scholarship chairman early.

Making donations to the scholarship fund: Donations of numismatic items and cash are gladly accepted to support these scholarships. Items donated will be auctioned at MPC Fest 17(April 1st-3rd, 2016, Port Clinton, Ohio) or on eBay. Monetary donations can be sent to:

Military Numismatists Scholarship Fund c/o Dan or Kathy Freeland PO Box 195 Mayville, MI 48744 U.S.A

Please make checks payable to "Military Numismatists Scholarship Fund." Donations are not tax deductible.

A list of donors is maintained within the "MPCGram" military numismatics electronic newsletter. For a free subscription please e-mail MPCGram@yahoo.com. Every attempt will be made to include donor lists in published articles about the scholarship.

Past Scholarship Recipients are:

Sam Feeback	Lawton, Oklahoma	2001
Harold Kroll	Semmes, Alabama	2001
Warner Talso	Albuquerque, New Mexico	2001
William Yanchick	Benton, Pennsylvania	2001
Robert Kutcher	Lincoln, Nebraska	2002
David Seelye	North Chili, New York	2002

Frank Clark	Carrollton, Texas	2002
Ron Waddell	Forest, Virginia	2003
George Fitzgerald	Fort Wayne, Indiana	2003
Robert Drake	Marina, California	2003
David Seelye	North Chili, New York	2003
Dick Freyser	Fort Washington, Maryland	2003
Cameron Bueschel	Peyton, Colorado	2003
Ron Waddell	Forest, Virginia	2004
Dan Freeland	Mayville, Michigan	2004
Rachel Feller	Robins, Iowa	2004
Nik Sharplin	Melbourne, Australia	2004
Jack Hunter	Hickman, Nebraska	2005
Becky Jirka	Lisle, Illinois	2005
Karen Jach	Milwaukee, Wisconsin	2005
Kathy Freeland	Mayville, Michigan	2006
Edward Arrich	Coldspring, Texas	2007
Loretta Freyser	Clarksville, Tennessee	2008
Hannah Powell	Strawberry Point, Iowa	2008
Mark Watson	Lancaster, California	2008
Robert Drew	Barrington, New Hampshire	2008
Brett Irick	Dearborn, Michigan	2009
Bill Myers	Oro Valley, Arizona	2009
Bob Olson	Malone, Wisconsin	2009
John Regitko	North York, Canada	2010
Dick Dunn	Pickering, Canada	2010
Tony James	Randwick, Australia	2010
Roger Urce	Saint James, New York	2011
John Cheney	Fort Worth, Texas	2011
Laura Guentensberger		2011
Jim Aitken	Bellevue, Washington	2011
Dave Hunsicker	West Bend, Wisconsin	2012
Ken Berger	San Diego, California	2012
Mike Buckley	Tallahassee, Florida	2012
Greg Fedner	Bexley, Ohio	2012
Bob Jaques	Hartsele, Alabama	2013
John Phipps	Tucker, Georgia	2013
Cuneyd Tolek	Sylvania, Ohio	2013 – transferred to 2014
Kris Tolek	Sylvania, Ohio	2013 – transferred to 2014
Jack Lippincott	Florida	2014
Warner Talso	Albuquerque, New Mexico	2014
		—