Board Meeting Highlights

ANA officials review service-award criteria and fill key positions for the 2017-19 term.

The ANA Board of Governors meets throughout the year via telephone conferences and at various venues, including ANA conventions. Below are highlights of recent Board action.

Teleconference

The ANA Board of Governors met via teleconference on April 18, 2017. Present and voting were President Jeff Garrett, Vice President Gary Adkins, and Governors Col. Steve Ellsworth (Ret.), Greg Lyon, Paul Montgomery, Thomas Mulvaney, Dr. Walter Ostromecki Jr. and Dr. Ralph Ross (Governor Dr. Donald Kagin was unable to participate). Also attending were Executive Director Kimberly Kiick, General Counsel Hollie Wieland, ANA Treasurer Larry Baber, Secretary Sanford Pearl, Parliamentarian Mark Lighterman, Controller Carol Shuman, Executive Assistant Donna Nuñez and Executive Project Manager Ann Rahn.

Awards

Motion by Montgomery, second by Ross, to approve establishment of the ANA Philanthropy Award.

Passed—7 Yes, 1 No (Ostromecki), 1 Absent (Kagin)

Colloquy: The Board of Governors discussed various recommendations from the ANA Advisory Committee regarding the name of the award. Governors also considered options for recognizing significant contributions from past, current and future donors.

World's Fair of Money

The 2016-17 ANA Board of Governors met in open and closed sessions on August 4 in conjunction with the World's Fair of Money® in Denver, Colorado. Present and voting were President Jeff Garrett, Vice President Gary Adkins, and Governors Col. Steve Ellsworth (Ret.), Dr. Donald Kagin, Greg Lyon, Paul Montgomery, Thomas Mulvaney, Dr. Walter Ostromecki Jr. and Dr. Ralph Ross. Attending the meeting were Past President Thomas Hallenbeck; incoming governors Brian Hendelson, John Highfill and Thomas Uram; and Past Governor Scott Rottinghaus. Also present were Executive Director Kimberly Kiick, General Counsel Hollie Wieland, ANA Treasurer Larry Baber, Secretary Sanford Pearl, Parliamentarian Mark Lighterman, Controller Carol Shuman, Executive Assistant Donna Nuñez, Executive Project Manager Ann Rahn, and Conventions Director Rhonda Scurek.

Awards

Motion by Ostromecki, second by Kagin, to approve the following changes in ANA service awards:

- 1) Discontinue the Exemplary Service Award effective August 5, 2017.
- 2) Change the name of the Adna G. Wilde Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence to the Adna G. Wilde Jr. Memorial Award for Exemplary Service.
 - 3) Remove from the criteria for

the Harry J. Forman Dealer of the Year award the participation of past recipients in the selection process.

Passed—8 Yes, 1 Abstain (Lyon)

Motion by Ostromecki, second by Montgomery, to approve recommendations for establishing naming rights for service awards. which grant the underwriter(s) the first right of refusal for renewal at the end of a maximum 10-year funding period: Lifetime Achievement Award, Numismatist of the Year and Young Numismatist of the Year (\$75,000 donation each): Medal of Merit (\$50,000 donation); Numismatic Art Award for Excellence in Medallic Sculpture and Outstanding District Representative (\$25,000 donation each).

Passed—8 Yes, 1 Abstain (Lyon)

Colloquy: Past President and Advisory Council Member Gary
Lewis recommended that, going forward, the established funding levels for award-naming rights be adjusted as needed for inflation.
Garrett explained that future
Boards would have the option of revisiting and amending the levels as appropriate.

Motion by Montgomery, second by Kagin, to approve the criteria recommendations for one- and three-year sponsorship opportunities for ANA service awards and the benefits associated therewith.

Passed-7 Yes.

2 Abstain (Lyon & Ostromecki)

Vote of ANA Support

Motion by Ellsworth, second by Lyon, to join with the Ancient Coin Collectors Guild in supporting the amicus brief *US v. 3 Knife Shaped Coins*.

Passed—Unanimous





The newly elected 2017-19 ANA Board of Governors also met in open and closed sessions on August 5 in conjunction with the World's Fair of Money in Denver. Present and voting were President Garv Adkins, Vice President Dr. Donald Kagin, and Governors Col. Steve Ellsworth (Ret.), Brian Hendelson, John Highfill, Greg Lyon, Dr. Ralph Ross and Thomas Uram (Governor Paul Montgomery was unable to participate). Also attending were Past President Jeff Garrett, Executive Director Kimberly Kiick, General Counsel Hollie Wieland, ANA Treasurer Larry Baber, Secretary Sanford Pearl, Parliamentarian Mark Lighterman, Controller Carol Shuman, Executive Assistant Donna Nuñez, Fund Development Manager Donna Frater, and Marketing and Communications Director Deborah Muehleisen.

Corporate Officers

Motion by Ellsworth, second by

▲ During the banquet, author and ANA Past President Kenneth Bressett (front) installed the 2017-19 Board of Governors.

→ ANA President Jeff Garrett (left) passed the gavel to incoming president Gary Adkins.

Lyon, to approve appointment of the following Corporate and Special Officers:

General Counsel: Hollie Wieland Treasurer: Larry Baber Secretary: Sanford Pearl Parliamentarian: Mark Lighterman Assistant Treasurers: Terry Carver, Kenneth Hallenbeck and Gerome Walton

Historian: Q. David Bowers National Coordinator: Richard Jozefiak

Chief Judge: Joseph E. Boling National Exhibit Coordinator: Mark Lighterman

> Passed—8 Yes, 1 Absent (Montgomery)

Audit Committee

Motion by Hendelson, second by Ross, to name the following individuals to the Audit Committee: Col. Steve Ellsworth (Ret.), Jeff Garrett, Ron Guth, Thomas Hallenbeck, Robert Harwell II and Wendell Wolka.

Passed—8 Yes, 1 Absent (Montgomery)