

ANA Literary Awards announced at 2014 World's Fair of Money

The ANA's 2014 Literary Awards — recognizing articles published in the 2013 volume of the ANA's official magazine, *The Numismatist* — were presented Aug. 7 at the 2014 ANA World's Fair of Moneysm in Rosemont, Illinois. *The Numismatist* was first published by ANA founder and inaugural editor Dr. George F. Heath in 1888.

The Heath Literary Awards

Introduced in 1949, the Heath Literary Awards acknowledges outstanding articles. First place was won by Donald H. Kagin for his February 2013 article, "Treasury Notes of the War of 1812." The elegant notes are considered by some to be the United States' first truly successful circulating paper currency. Kagin, a professional numismatist and a past ANA governor, received \$250 and an engraved nickel-silver medal designed in 2013 by artist and ANA member Jamie Franki.

Andrew Laurie Stangel took second place for his feature article, "Medaling in Politics: The Artful Satire of Karl Goetz," published in the November 2013 edition. His article described how a talented German artist chronicled the triumphs and tribulations of his country in the years surrounding World War I. He received a \$100 prize and an engraved bronze medal.

Gary M. Greenbaum received third place for "The Other Side of the Oregon Trail Half Dollar," published in the October 2013 issue, in which he questioned the motivations of the coin's promoter, Ezra Meeker.

The Wayte and Olga Raymond Memorial Literary Award

The Wayte and Olga Raymond Memorial Literary Award was endowed in 1978 by the late John J. Ford Jr. It is presented for articles in *The Numismatist* that display original and comprehensive research in U.S. numismatics.

First place was won by Richard Snow for "On the Verge of Change, 1848-55," published in April 2013, which explored the years leading up to the Civil War, a turbulent time for the United States and its currency.

Taking second place was Q. David Bowers for "The New Kids on the Block: Early Pioneers in American Numismatic Auctions," published in January 2013, which profiled three professionals who paved the way for a generation of collectors and dealers.

The Catherine Sheehan Literary Award

This award recognizes authors of articles focusing on U.S. paper money studies. First place was awarded to Donald H. Kagin for "Treasury Notes of the War of 1812."

Second place was awarded to Dennis Schafluetzel for "Rare Notes from a Railroad & River Hub," published in May 2013, in which he discussed a challenging series of pre-Civil War bank notes that illustrate the important role of transportation in the development of Chattanooga, Tennessee.

The American Numismatic Association is a congressionally chartered nonprofit educational organization dedicated to encouraging people to study and collect money and related items. The ANA helps its 25,500 members and the public discover and explore the world of money through its vast array of education and outreach programs, as well as its museum, library, publications, conventions and seminars. For more information, call 719-632-2646 or go to www.money.org.