# Governors Meet at Chicago World's Fair of Money

ANA Board considers bylaws, policies, election reporting and officer appointments.

THE ANA BOARD of Governors met in open and executive sessions during the American Numismatic Association World's Fair of Money<sup>SM</sup> at the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center in Rosemont, Illinois, August 16-20. Present and voting in meetings conducted on August 17 and 19 were President Clifford Mishler, Vice President Thomas G. Hallenbeck, and Governors Joseph E. Boling, Jeff Garrett, Alan Herbert, J.P. Martin, Walter A. Ostromecki Jr., Scott Rottinghaus and Wendell A. Wolka. Also present were Exec utive Director Larry J. Shepherd; General Counsel and Parliamen tarian A. Ronald Sirna Jr.: Senior Administrative Manager Kimberly Kiick; Controller Carol Shuman; Executive Assistant Ann Rahn; and Governors-Elect Gary Adkins, Mike Ellis and Greg Lyon.

Present and voting in meetings conducted on August 20 were the newly installed members of the 2011-13 Board: President Thomas Hallenbeck, Vice President Walter Ostromecki, and Governors Gary Adkins, Mike Ellis, Jeff Garrett, Greg Lyon, Clifford Mishler, Scott Rottinghaus and Wendell A. Wolka. Also present were Exec-

## Record of Telephone Vote -July 19, 2011

Motion by Ostromecki, second by Herbert, to approve establishment of the Robert E. Lecce Memorial Fund, to be used for the advancement of numismatic education.

Passed—6 Yes, 2 Absent (Garrett, Hallenbeck), 1 Abstain (Mishler)

utive Director Larry J. Shepherd; General Counsel and Parliamentarian A. Ronald Sirna Jr.; Senior Administrative Manager Kimberly Kiick; Controller Carol Shuman; and Executive Assistant Ann Rahn.

The following is excerpted from the official minutes. In addition, actions taken in one telephone vote were approved and are presented here as a matter of record.

# AUGUST 17 & 19, 2011 "Conflict of Interest" Policy

Motion by Boling, second by Herbert, to adopt the proposed "Conflict of Interest" policy that applies to ANA elected officials, appointed officers and designated staff.

Passed-Unanimous

#### Elections

Motion by Hallenbeck, second by Boling, to publish the names of qualified election candidates on the ANA website (www.money.org) on a weekly basis during the nomi-

nation process, beginning with the 2013 election.

Passed—7 Yes, 1 No (Ostromecki), 1 Abstain (Mishler)

## **Bylaws**

Motion by Ostromecki, second by Rottinghaus, to amend the proposed bylaws, as published in the June 2011 issue of *The Numismatist*, to allow those in the "young numismatist" membership category to vote in ANA elections at age 13, rather than age 18.

Passed—5 Yes, 3 No (Boling, Herbert, Garrett), 1 Abstain (Mishler)

Motion by Herbert, second by Boling, to adopt the proposed bylaws as amended.

Passed-Unanimous

## **Policy Manual**

Motion by Boling, second by Herbert, to adopt the ANA Policy Manual as submitted on August 13, 2011.

Passed—Unanimous

## AUGUST 20, 2011 Appointments

Motion by Mishler, second by Wolka, to appoint Lawrence P. Baber as ANA treasurer, and David J. Sklow as ANA secretary.

Passed—7 Yes, 2 Absent (Adkins, Garrett)

Motion by Mishler, second by Wolka, to appoint Past President Barry S. Stuppler as ex-officio Board member per Article IV, Section 7, of the ANA bylaws.

Passed−8 Yes,1 Absent (Garrett)



PHOTO: B. GREGORY