Governors Meet in Portland

At the ANA's National Money Show in Oregon, elected officials considered awards, conventions, finances, dues and bylaws.

[PORTLAND OR] The American Numismatic Association Board of Governors met in closed and open sessions on March 12-13, 2009, in conjunction with the National Money Show™ in Portland, Oregon. Present and voting were President Barry S. Stuppler, Vice President Patricia Jagger Finner, and Governors Joseph E. Boling, Alan Herbert, Chester L. Krause, Clifford Mishler, Walter A. Ostromecki, Edward C. Rochette and Wendell A. Wolka. Also in attendance were Executive Director Larry Shepherd, General Counsel and Parliamentarian A. Ronald Sirna Jr., Past President and Sergeant-at-Arms William H. Horton Jr., Senior Administrative Manager Kimberly Kiick and Controller Carol Shuman. The following is excerpted from the official minutes:

RECORD OF TELEPHONE VOTES February 18, 2009

Motion by Herbert, second by Ostromecki, to adopt the proposed dues structure as presented, with a change in the overseas delivery surcharge from \$2 to \$3 per month.

> Passed—7 Yes, 2 Absent (Mishler, Wolka)

Motion by Finner, second by Ostromecki, to adopt the following criteria for the Harry J. Forman Professional Numismatist of the Year recognition:

1) Recipient must be a full-time dealer for a minimum of 20 years.

2) Recipient must have a firm, ongoing commitment to the betterment of the ANA and the numismatic hobby.

3) Recipient must be willing to serve on the selection committee for subsequent recipients for a term of 5 years.

4) Recipient must be an ANA member in good standing.

Passed—7 Yes, 2 Absent (Mishler, Wolka)

RECORD OF MAIL VOTE February 25, 2009

Motion by Krause, second by Wolka, that the ANA Board of Governors accept the contract with Colorado College for the ANA's 2009 Summer Seminar, as reviewed by general counsel and the executive director.

Passed—8 Yes, 1 Absent (Mishler)

CLOSED SESSION—March 12, 2009 Awards

Motion by Finner, second by Wolka, that the Board of Governors present one (1) Farran Zerbe Memorial Award for Distinguished Service at the ANA's 118th Anniversary Convention in Los Angeles, California, in August 2009. Passed—Unanimous

Motion by Wolka, second by Rochette, that the Board of Governors present two (2) Medals of Merit at the 118th Anniversary Convention. *Passed—Unanimous*

Motion by Ostromecki, second by Mishler, that the Board of Governors present three (3) Glenn Smedley Memorial Awards at the 118th Anniversary Convention.

Passed—Unanimous

Motion by Herbert, second by Wolka, that the Board of Governors present one (1) Lifetime Achievement Award at the 118th Anniversary Convention. *Passed—Unanimous*

Motion by Herbert, second by Ostromecki, that the Board of Governors amend the motion above to present two (2) Lifetime Achievement Awards at the 118th Anniversary Convention.

> Passed—5 Yes, 4 No (Boling, Finner, Mishler, Wolka)

Motion by Wolka, second by Ostromecki, that the Board of Governors present one (1) Exemplary Service Award at the 118th Anniversary Convention. *Passed—Unanimous*

Motion by Finner, second by Krause, that the Board of Governors present one (1) Outstanding Government Service Award at the 118th Anniversary Convention.

Passed—Unanimous

Motion by Mishler, second by Herbert, that the Board of Governors recognize one (1) Numismatist of the Year at the 118th Anniversary Convention. *Passed—Unanimous*

OPEN SESSION—March 13, 2009 Conventions

Motion by Finner, second by Herbert, that the ANA accept the general contractor (decorator) bid from George Fern Company for the 2010 National Money Show in Ft. Worth, Texas. Passed—Unanimous

Motion by Mishler, second by Finner, that the ANA name Robert D. Leonard Jr. as general chairman of the 2011 World's Fair of Money[®] to be held in Chicago, Illinois. Passed—Unanimous

Motion by Boling, second by Ostromecki, to charge \$25 for the 2009 World's Fair of Money banquet in Los Angeles to the following groups of attendees who formerly received free tickets: exhibitors, judges, national volunteers, host committee, board members and their guests, and past presidents; and to add to those groups bourse table holders (plus one guest) and sponsors at the \$1,000 level and higher (plus one guest). *Passed—Unanimous*

Colloquy: Other banquet attendees will pay the contracted cost of the banquet (\$80 per person).

Finances

Motion by Wolka, second by Finner,

that the ANA Board of Governors approve the 2009-10 budget as presented by the executive director and modified by the Board on March 12.

Passed—Unanimous

Motion by Finner, second by Wolka, that the ANA Board of Governors authorize a change in accounting period for the American Numismatic Association, from April 1-March 31 to November 1-October 31.

Passed—Unanimous

Colloquy: The Board accepts a sevenmonth fiscal year, beginning April 1, 2009, and ending October 31, 2009, and acknowledges the new fiscal year as November 1-October 31, which begins November 1, 2009. ANA Executive Director Larry Shepherd authorizes Treasurer Austin M. Sheheen to file the necessary forms with the Internal Revenue Service to effect the change.

Staff Education Fund

Motion by Finner, second by Krause, to accept the funds offered by the Lewis M. Reagan Memorial Foundation and to open a checking/savings account with Ent Federal Credit Union in Colorado Springs. The donation will be designated as the Lewis M. Reagan Memorial Staff Education Fund.

Passed—Unanimous

Membership Dues

Motion by Mishler, second by Finner, that the ANA defer the increase in Association dues for renewing members from April 1 to June 1, 2009. New applicants will pay the revised rates as scheduled.

Passed—5 Yes, 4 No (Boling, Herbert, Ostromecki, Stuppler)

Bylaws

Motion by Ostromecki, second by Mishler, that Article X, Section 4, of the ANA bylaws be revised to reflect the change in fiscal year from April 1-March 31 to November 1-October 31. *Passed—Unanimous*

Motion by Boling, second by Mishler, that the ANA bylaws be revised to accommodate the new descriptions of membership classes, effective April 1, 2009 (basic, regular, young numismatist, life, associate, senior and club member).

Article I, Section 1. Change to read as follows: "The membership of this Association shall consist of regular members, young numismatist (YN) members, senior members, life members, associate members, club members and honorary members (the last as the Association deems appropriate from time to time or as provided in these bylaws). Any of the first four classes of membership may be obtained with electronic distribution of the Association's official publication (*The Numismatist*) or with both electronic and P