ASSOCIATION BUSINESS

Board Convenes in Chicago

Officers consider conventions, committees and legislation.

THE OUTGOING BOARD of Governors met in open session on August 14 during the World's Fair of MoneySM in Rosemont, Illinois. Present and voting were President Walter Ostromecki, Vice President Jeff Garrett, and Governors Gary Adkins, Greg Lyon, Tom Mulvaney, Scott Rottinghaus, Ralph Ross and Jeffrey Swindling. (Governor Laura Sperber was absent.) Also present were ANA Past President Thomas Hallenbeck and Governors-Elect Steve Ellsworth, Donald Kagin and Paul Montgomery. The incoming Board of Governors met in open session on August 15. Present and voting were President Jeff Garrett, Vice President Gary Adkins and Governors Steve Ellsworth, Donald Kagin, Greg Lyon, Paul Montgomery, Thomas Mulvaney, Walter Ostromecki and Ralph Ross.

Also in attendance were ANA **Executive Director Kimberly** Kiick: General Counsel Hollie Wieland: Treasurer Gerome Walton; Secretary Sanford Pearl; Parliamentarian Mark Lighterman; Young Numismatist (YN) Board Intern Samuel Ernst (August 14); YN Board Intern Maxwell Gregory (August 15); Controller Carol Shuman; Executive Assistant Donna Nunez: Conventions Director Rhonda Scurek; Membership Director Cary Hardy; Communications Coordinator Morgan Perry; and Museum Specialist/Photographer Robert Kelley.

The following are excerpts from these open sessions.

August 14, 2015Conventions

Motion by Lyon, second by Ross, that Cindy Wibker be named host chair of the 2017 National Money ShowSM in Orlando, Florida.

Passed—8 Yes; 1 Absent (Sperber)

Motion by Swindling, second by Adkins, that Florida United Numismatists (FUN) be named host club for the 2017 National Money Show in Orlando, Florida.

Passed—8 Yes; 1 Absent (Sperber)

Resolution of Support

Motion by Rottinghaus, second by Lyon, that the ANA support "Responsible Collecting" as defined by Ursula Kampmann in her work with the Federal Numismatic Commission of Germany.

Passed—8 Yes; 1 Absent (Sperber) Colloquy: Governor Rottinghaus commented on Germany's proposed amendment to the Law on the Protection of Cultural Property, which would effectively prevent the owners of artifacts, such as coins, from selling them outside the country. Governor Adkins felt the ANA should decide how to address such issues, commenting that the Industry Council for Tangible Assets (ICTA) was working on 120 of 1,000 pieces of legislation that would impact numismatics in the United States.

President Ostromecki emphasized that any ANA involvement or support must be approached with care so as not to jeopardize the Association's charter or non-profit status.

ANA member Robert Korver emphasized that the issue needs to be addressed, but that more than a resolution is necessary to protect the numismatic community. Korver stated that collectors should be encouraged to contact their government representatives and request the enactment of reasonable legislation.

August 15, 2015

Corporate & Special Officers

Motion by Montgomery, second by Mulvaney, to approve the ANA Officers and Special Officers appointed by President Garret in accordance with Article IV, Section 2, of the ANA bylaws:

Hollie Wieland, General Counsel Lewis Kling, Counselor to the President Gerome Walton, Treasurer Terry Carver, Ken Hallenbeck, Assistant Treasurers Sanford Pearl, Secretary Mark Lighterman, Parliamentarian David Sklow, Historian Richard Jozefiak, National Coordinator (Club and District Representative Program) Joseph Boling, Chief Judge Mark Lighterman, National Exhibit Coordinator Maxwell Gregory, YN Board Intern (2015-16)

Passed-Unanimous

Committee Appointments

Motion by Mulvaney, second by Ostromecki, that the ANA Board appoint Gary Adkins, Ron Guth, Greg Lyon (chair) and Wendell Wolka to the 2015-17 Audit Committee, (with Treasurer Gerome Walton as an ex-officio member.) For a list of other committee appointments, see p. 89.)

Passed—8 Yes; 1 Abstain (Lyon)

Conventions

Motion by Adkins, second by Mulvaney, to conditionally consider the following as host cities for the 2018 and/or 2019 National Money Shows, subject to feedback from the membership submitted on or before September 25, 2015: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; Charleston, South Carolina; and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Passed—8 Yes; 1 Abstain (Montgomery)

OCTOBER 2015 www.money.org The NUMISMATIST 81