ANA BUSINESS

Board Actions

In New Orleans and Chicago, ANA governors considered bylaws, conventions, exhibit awards, finances and appointed officers.

THE ANA BOARD of Governors met in open and executive sessions during the American Numismatic Association's National Money ShowSM at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center in New Orleans, May 9-11, and at the 122nd Anniversary Convention (World's Fair of MoneySM) at the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center in Chicago, August 13-17. Excerpts from the open meetings are featured below.

National Money Show OPEN SESSION—MAY 10

Present and voting were President Thomas G. Hallenbeck, Vice President Walter A. Ostromecki Jr., and Governors Gary Adkins, Mike Ellis, Greg Lyon, Clifford Mishler, Scott Rottinghaus and Wendell A. Wolka; Governor Jeff Garrett was unable to attend. Also present



were ANA Executive Director Kimberly Kiick, Secretary/Historian David Sklow, Treasurer Lawrence P. Baber, General Counsel Hollie Wieland and Controller Carol Shuman.

Resolutions

Motion by Wolka, second by Lyon, to accept the National Money Show resolutions as presented by the Resolutions Committee.

Passed—8 Yes; 1 Absent (Garrett)

Finances

Motion by Wolka, second by Rottinghaus, to accept the Fiscal Year End (October 31, 2012) audited financial report prepared by BiggsKofford, certified public accountants.

Passed—7 Yes; 2 Absent (Garrett, Hallenbeck)

Motion by Adkins, second by Wolka, to accept the Fiscal Year End (October 31, 2012) 990 Tax Return prepared by BiggsKofford, certified public accountants.

Passed—7 Yes; 2 Absent (Garrett, Hallenbeck)

Conventions

Motion by Adkins, second by Lyon, to appoint Walter A. Ostromecki Jr. as host chairman of the 2016 World's Fair of Money in Anaheim, California.

Passed—7 Yes; 2 Absent (Garrett, Ostromecki)

Governance

Motion by Ostromecki, second by Mishler, to amend Article V, Section 4 of the ANA bylaws ("Regular Meetings") as follows (with italics denoting added text): "Meetings of the Board of Governors shall be held at each Association convention, with no fewer than four additional meetings during each fiscal year."

Passed—7 Yes; 2 Absent (Garrett, Ostromecki)

Exhibit Awards

Motion by Mishler, second by Lyon, that the venue cited in the fifth and sixth "Terms and Conditions" of the Charles "Radford" Stearns memorial endowment grant agreement that provides for competitive exhibitor awards be changed from the Fall National Money Show to the Spring National Money Show.

Passed—8 Yes; 1 Absent (Garrett)

Board Meetings

Motion by Ostromecki, second by Mishler, to permit the ANA president-elect for the 2013-15 term, following the official public announcement of election results, to disseminate to new Board members (excluding elected incumbents) the minutes of the past two years' Board meetings—both open and closed sessions—and to discuss individually with them via telephone the issues facing the Association. Closed-session minutes can be disclosed only with the general counsel's approval and only after the new Board members sign a confidentiality agreement.

Passed—8 Yes; 1 Absent (Garrett)

World's Fair of Money OPEN SESSION—AUGUST 16

Present and voting were President Thomas G. Hallenbeck, Vice President Walter A. Ostromecki Jr., and Governors Gary Adkins, Mike Ellis, Jeff Garrett, Greg Lyon, Clifford Mishler, Scott Rottinghaus and Wendell A. Wolka. Also present were ANA Executive Director Kimberly Kiick, Secretary/Historian David Sklow, Treasurer Lawrence P. Baber, General Counsel Hollie Wieland and Controller Carol Shuman.

Website

Motion by Ostromecki, second by Wolka, to contract with Riser Media for front-end development and construction of the ANA web-

The NUMISMATIST www.money.org OCTOBER 2013

site at a cost of \$375,000, and to contract with Euclid Technology for association management software at a cost of \$250,000, with both contracts subject to review by ANA general counsel.

Passed—Unanimous

Conventions

Motion by Mishler, second by Wolka, to accept the Chicago Coin Club as the host organization for the 2014 World's Fair of Money in Rosemont, Illinois.

Passed—Unanimous

Motion by Ostromecki, second by Ellis, to accept William Burd as the host chairman for the 2014 World's Fair of Money.

Passed—Unanimous

Board Meetings

Motion by Wolka, second by Ellis, to accept, as amended, the minutes of the open-session meetings held in New Orleans, May 10.

Passed—Unanimous

Numismatic Hall of Fame

Motion by Mishler, second by Wolka, to amend the last sentence of the first paragraph of "Section III d" of the Numismatic Hall of Fame "Election Procedures" to read: "A total of three supportive recommendations is required to pass nominations on to the Electoral Panel, with only the permanent members of the Council being entitled to vote."

Passed-Unanimous

OPEN SESSION—NEW BOARD AUGUST 17

Present and voting were President Walter A. Ostromecki Jr., Vice President Jeff Garrett, and Gov-ernors Gary Adkins, Mike Ellis, Greg Lyon, Ralph Ross, Scott Rottinghaus, Laura Sperber and Jeff Swindling. Also present were ANA Executive Director Kimberly Kiick, Secretary Sanford Pearl,

Treasurer Lawrence P. Baber, General Counsel Hollie Wieland, Parliamentarian Mark Lighterman, Historian David Sklow, Immediate Past President Thomas Hallenbeck and Controller Carol Shuman.

Corporate & Special Officers

Motion by Lyon, second by Ellis, to approve the following ANA Corporate & Special Officers for the 2013-15 term:

Secretary-Sanford Pearl

Assistant Secretary—Joe Boling Treasurer—Larry Baber Assistant Treasurers—Kenneth Hallenbeck, Gerome Walton, Scott Loos, Steve D'Ippolito Parliamentarian—Mark Lighter-Historian-David Sklow General Counsel—Hollie Wieland National Representative Program Coordinator—Sandy Hill Chief Judge—Joseph Boling National Exhibit Coordinator -Mark Lighterman' Young Numismatist Board Intern—Cole Schenewerk Passed-6 Yes; 2 Absent (Adkins, Garrett); 1 Abstain (Sperber)

Election

Motion by Rottinghaus, second by Swindling, to destroy the ballots from the 2013 Board of Governors election on or after February 13, 2014, in accordance with Article VII, Section 6, of the ANA bylaws.

Passed—7 Yes, 2 Absent (Adkins, Garrett)

Governance

Motion by Rottinghaus, second by Ellis, to adopt for inclusion in the ANA Board of Governors' handbook a section titled "Duties of ANA Board Members," as developed by the ANA Board Orien - tation Subcommittee and President Ostromecki.

Passed—7 Yes; 1 Absent (Adkins); 1 Abstain (Lyon)

OCTOBER 2013 www.money.org The NUMISMATIST