

ORIGINAL RELEASE DATE: July 24, 2001

ANA CONTACTS: Phone: (719) 482-9872

E-mail: pr@money.org

## WILSON AND LEWIS ELECTED NEW ANA PRESIDENT AND VP; FOUR NEW GOVERNORS TO JOIN BOARD

A new president and vice president, and four new and three incumbents have been elected to the American Numismatic Association (ANA) nine-member Board of Governors, with 8,220 ballots cast in the biennial election.

ANA Vice President John Wilson of Ocala, Florida, was elected president, defeating Past Governor Will Rossman of Estes Park, Colorado. Wilson received 4,841 votes to Rossman's 3,225 in the first contested race for the ANA presidency since 1975.

In the contested election for the vice presidency, Governor Gary E. Lewis of Cape Coral, Florida, defeated Governor Alan Herbert of Belle Fourche, South Dakota, by a vote of 4,343 to 3,582.

New Board members are M. Remy Bourne, Arthur M. Fitts III, William H. Horton Jr. and Jerry Lebo. Incumbents re-elected are Patricia A. Finner, Kay Edgerton Lenker and Barry S. Stuppler.

President H. Robert Campbell and Governor Thomas Hallenbeck, who both served two terms on the ANA Board, did not seek re-election. Past President Anthony Swiatek was prohibited from seeking another term, having served the 10-year limit of five terms.

Wilson, a 23-year life member of the ANA, is a collector, exhibitor, exhibit judge, author, speaker and researcher. A member of the Board of Governors since 1995, he also has served as president of the Central States Numismatic Society and governor of the Society of Paper Money Collectors. He is a recipient of the Association's Medal of Merit, Glenn Smedley Memorial Award and Presidential Award.

Lewis, a 41-year life member of the ANA, was first elected to the Board of Governors in 1995 and has served on the ANA's Audit, Finance, Exhibit, Resolutions, Mediation, Commemorative Quarter and Young Numismatists Committees. He also has served as a regional, district and club representative and is the 1979 recipient of the ANA Outstanding Adult Advisor Award.

All members of the ANA Board of Governors elected this year will assume office during the Association's 110th Anniversary Convention in Atlanta, Georgia, August 8-12. Installation of officers will take place at the convention banquet on Saturday, August 11.

Votes garnered by the winning candidates, as tabulated by the independent accounting firm of Grant Thornton (in descending order of votes received) are:

- 5,377 for Finner of Iola, Wisconsin
- 4,875 for Lenker of San Diego, California
- 4,628 for Stuppler of Woodland Hills, California

- 4,566 for Arthur M. Fitts III of Framingham, Massachusetts
- 4,507 for M. Remy Bourne of Minneapolis, Minnesota
- 4,321 for Jerry Lebo of Logansport, Indiana
- 4,263 for William H. Horton Jr. of Keyport, New Jersey

Votes received by the 4 unsuccessful candidates, in descending order, are:

- 4,030 for Walter A. Ostromecki Jr. of Panorama City, California
- 4,026 for Steven K. Ellsworth of Clifton, Virginia
- 3,979 for Karen Jach of Milwaukee, Wisconsin
- 3,958 for Gar Travis of Jacksonville, North Carolina

Nearly 28 percent of the ANA membership cast ballots in this election; more than 30 percent voted in the ANA election two years ago.

The American Numismatic Association is a congressionally chartered nonprofit educational organization dedicated to encouraging people to study and collect money and related items. The ANA helps its 28,000 members and the public discover and explore the world of money through its vast array of education and outreach programs, as well as its museum, library, publications, conventions and seminars. For more information, call 719-632-2646 or go to www.money.org.