2001 Numismatic Literary Awards presented at ANA Atlanta show

August 10, 2001 By ekr

2001 Numismatic Literary Awards presented at ANA Atlanta show

The American Numismatic Association’s (ANA) 2001 numismatic literary awards, recognizing articles published in the 2000 volume of the ANA’s official journal – The Numismatist – were presented on Friday, August 10, during the Association’s 110th Anniversary Convention in the Atlanta, Georgia.

The Heath Literary Award, introduced in 1949 and named for George Heath, ANA founder and the first editor of The Numismatist, recognizes outstanding articles published in the last year in the journal.

The first-place Heath Literary Award went to Joel J. Orosz of Kalamazoo, Michigan, for “Gilmor and the 1804 Silver Dollars,” published in the June 2000 issue. For this distinction, he received an engraved silver medal, certificate and $250 cash prize.

Also presented to Orosz was the second-place award – an engraved, bronze medal, a certificate and a $100 cash prize – for “The Curious Case of the Collectors Kline” published in the October 2000 issue.

Roger Boye of Evanston, Illinois, received third-place honors for “Setting Store by St. Paul,” published in the July 2000 issue. For this distinction, he received an engraved, bronze medal and a certificate.

Sponsored by John J. Ford Jr., the Wayte and Olga Raymond Memorial Literary Award was presented to authors of articles in The Numismatist who displayed original and comprehensive research in United States numismatics.

Taking first-place honors was Robert Evans of Columbus, Ohio, for “A Wealth of Double Eagle Die Varieties,” his exhaustive study of thousands of 1857 $20 gold pieces recovered from the S.S. Central America, published in the July 2000 issue. For this, Evans received a certificate and a $400 cash prize.

Earning second-place honors was Orosz for “Gilmor and the 1804 Silver Dollars.” He received a certificate and a check for $200.

Funded by an anonymous donor, the Catherine Sheehan Literary Award is for U.S. Paper Money Studies published in The Numismatist. Earning the award was Mark Rabinowitz of Melbourne Beach, Florida, for “Men of the Revolution, the Sea and Currency,” appearing in the August 2000 issue. He received a framed certificate and $100. 

Originally Release Date: August 10, 2001
ANA Contacts: Phone: 719-482-9872
                            Email: pr@money.org
Return to top