election banner

2021 Election General Information

The American Numismatic Association is a nonprofit, educational organization and is recognized  under the Internal Revenue Service Code as a 501(c) (3) tax-exempt organization. It is governed by  a nine-member Board, which includes a president, vice president, and seven governors at large. The  ANA's federal charter, granted in perpetuity by the United States Congress, rests control of the  Association in the hands of this Board.  

In 2021 the terms of all nine officers will expire. Those elected will be installed at the ANA's 130th  Anniversary Convention in Chicago, IL August 13, 2021 and will compose the Board of Governors  for the next two years.  

ANA members with voting privileges can nominate candidates for the ANA Board of Governors.  Nominations must be in writing and received by the Executive Director no earlier than December  1, 2020, and no later than March 1, 2021.  

Individual members 13 years of age or older as of March 31 of an election year and who have been  members of the Association for at least one year as of that date shall be entitled to vote in any  Association election. ANA-member clubs are entitled to one vote. 


2021 Election Results

For President
Ralph W. Ross, Ph. D.  -  2,749 votes
Donald H. Kagin, Ph. D.  -  2,732 votes

For Vice President
Joseph E. Boling  -  1 vote (uncontested)

Candidates for Governor
Mary Lynn Garrett  -  4,165 votes
Clifford Mishler  -  4,111 votes
Shanna Schmidt  -  3,991 votes
Michael Ellis  -  3,989 votes
Rob Oberth  -  3,985 votes
Charles Morgan  -  3,911 votes
Mark Lighterman  -  3,910

Unelected Candidates for Governor
Muriel Eymery  -  3,823 votes

Election Outline

Election Year: 2021

Convention: Chicago, IL — 130th Anniversary Convention

Convention Dates: August 10-14, 2021

June 1, 2021: Official election ballots will be sent by the independent  auditing firm on or before June 1, 2021, to all members entitled to vote. Included are a pre-printed return envelope and candidate biographies/platforms.

July 1, 2021: Completed ballots must be received by the independent  auditing firm on or before July 1, 2021. Ballots received after this date will not be counted.

July 15, 2021: The independent auditing firm must deliver a report of votes  cast for each candidate to the President and Executive Director no later than July 15, 2021.

July 16-31, 2021: At least 10 days prior to the opening day of the anniversary  convention, the Executive Director, by written and/or electronic communications, shall announce to all candidates and to members of the numismatic media who customarily receive announcements from the Association the number of votes obtained by each candidate for each office.

August 13, 2021: The outgoing Board of Governors is recognized for its service to the Association, and the 2021-2023 Board of Governors is installed into office.

Bylaws Article VIII: Elections–Ethics

Section 1. Publication

            a) No person shall submit for publication or cause to be published any printed, paid advertisement promoting any person’s candidacy in an ANA election without that person’s consent.

            b) No member may cause to be published or distributed any advertisement relating to an ANA election that does not include the name and ANA membership number of the sponsoring person or organization. If the sponsor is a committee or organization, the name and address of its chairman or other principal representative must be included in the advertisement.

Section 2. Statements Regarding Candidates

No member may make or publish any false, misleading, libelous or slanderous statements regarding any candidate.

Section 3. No Association Endorsements

No advertisement, email, webpage or electronic messaging relating to an ANA election (nor any envelope or wrapper therefor) shall include any name, abbreviation, device or address that will in any manner indicate or imply the Association’s endorsement of, or opposition to, any candidate.

Section 4. Violation of Election Ethics

Any Member violating any of the preceding provisions shall be subject to expulsion, suspension or other disciplinary action therefor by the Board of Governors.

VIDEO FORUM: What it Takes to Be an ANA Board Member

This presentation was given at the 2018 World's Fair of Money® in Philadelphia.

EBOOK: What it Takes to Be an ANA Board Member

ebook png

Click above to download or read online.

We use cookies to provide users the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your cookie settings, we'll assume that you agree to receive all cookies on money.org. You may disable cookies at any time using your internet browser configuration. By continuing to use this website, you agree to our privacy policy and terms of use. To learn more about how we use cookies and to review our privacy policy, click here.