2003 Numismatic Literary Awards presented at ANA Baltimore show

August 1, 2003 By ekr

2003 Numismatic Literary Awards presented at ANA Baltimore show

The American Numismatic Association’s (ANA) 2003 numismatic literary awards, recognizing articles published in the 2002 volume of the ANA’s official journal–The Numismatist–were presented on Friday, August 1, during the Association’s 112th Anniversary Convention in Baltimore.

The Heath Literary Award, introduced in 1949 and named for George Heath, ANA founder and the first editor of The Numismatist, recognizes outstanding articles published in the last year in the journal.

The first-place Heath Literary Award went to Robert D. Leonard Jr. of Winnetka, Illinois, for “When Stamps Were Money,” featured in the February 2002 issue. For this distinction, he received an engraved silver medal, certificate and $250 cash prize.

R.W. Julian of Logansport, Indiana, was presented the second-place award–an engraved, bronze medal, a certificate and a $100 cash prize–for “The Uniquely American Cent,” published in the December 2002 issue.

John J. Kraljevich Jr. of Annapolis, Maryland, received third-place honors for “The Early Coins of New York,” printed in the July 2002 issue. For this distinction, he received an engraved bronze medal and a certificate.

Sponsored by John J. Ford Jr., the Wayte and Olga Raymond Memorial Literary Award was presented to authors of articles in The Numismatist who displayed original and comprehensive research in United States numismatics. Winning first place was Craig Krueger of Ft. Lee, New Jersey, and John Dannreuther of Cordova, Tennessee, for “A New Slant on Coins of 1850-56,” appearing in the June 2002 issue. For this, they received certificates and a $400 cash prize.

David T. Alexander of Mahopac, New York, received second-place honors for “Selling America’s Rarest Coin: The 1933 Double Eagle,” published in July 2002. He received a certificate and a check for $200.

Funded by an anonymous donor, the Catherine Sheehan Literary Award for U.S. Paper Money Studies includes a plaque and $100. The 2003 winner is Alexis O. Fernandez of Santurce, Puerto Rico, for “A $50 Note of the First National Bank of Porto Rico,” appearing in the July 2002 issue.

Originally Release Date: August 1, 2003
ANA Contacts: Phone: 719-482-9872
                            Email: pr@money.org
Return to top