American Numismatic Association announces results of 2007 Board of Governors election

July 25, 2007 By ekr


BiggsKofford, auditing firm for the American Numismatic Association 2007 Board of Governors’ election, has reported the following election results: 

For President Votes 
Barry S. Stuppler 1 
Woodland Hills, CA 

For Vice President 
Patricia Jagger-Finner 1 
Iola, WI 

Successful Candidates for Governor Votes 
Clifford Mishler 4,609 
Iola, WI 
Chester L. Krause 4,518 
Iola, WI 
Edward C. Rochette 3,541 
Colorado Springs, CO 
Joseph E. Boling 3,442 
Indianapolis, IN Radford Stearns 3,073 
Stone Mountain, GA 
Walter A. Ostromecki 2,882 
Panorama City, CA 
Wendell A. Wolka 2,850 
Greenwood, IN 

Unsuccessful Candidates for Governor Votes 
Alan Herbert 2,243 
Belle Fourche, SD 
Donald H. Kagin 2,068 
Tiburon, CA 
Anthony Tumonis 2,048 
Tucson, AZ 
M. Remy Bourne 1,900 
Vadnais Heights, MN 
Carl Schwenker III 1,891 
Houston, TX 
Arthur M. Fitts 1,867 
Framingham, MA 
Michael B. Doran 1,836 
Greenup, IL 
John R. Eshbach 1,829 
Smoketown, PA 
Donald H. Dool 1,235 
Crystal Lake, IL 

New officers will be installed during the annual ANA Awards Banquet, Saturday, Aug. 11, at the World’s Fair of Money in Milwaukee. Page 2/ANA election Overall 7,171 ballots were returned in the 2007 election, compared with 8,394 in 2005. Of the votes cast, 6,666 were valid and 505 were rejected: 436 because no membership number was written on the ballot; 26 because more than seven governors received votes; 24 due to invalid membership numbers; 10 because the ballot was not returned in the provided envelope; 6 due to duplicate member numbers and 3 because the ballots had been photocopied. 

The ANA mailed 31,263 ballots, one to each Association member whose membership was active on May 3. In 2005, 31,113 ballots were mailed. This year’s election also was the first time that the ANA could provide replacement ballots to voters. 

Each ballot was counted by the ANA’s independent auditing firm, BiggsKofford. At the conclusion of the election, BiggsKofford reviewed all membership numbers and removed all suspicious and duplicate numbers. 

The firm also performed a random review of ballots and checked the membership numbers against the list provided. 

All Board candidates were informed of the election results during a conference telephone call at 2 p.m. Wednesday, Mountain Standard Time. 

Originally Release Date: July 25, 2007
ANA Contacts: Phone: 719-482-9864
Return to top