ANA Award nominations sought

October 24, 2000 By ekr

ANA Award nominations sought

The American Numismatic Association (ANA) is seeking nominations for awards to be presented at the ANA World’s Fair of Money® 2001 in Atlanta, Georgia, next August.

In his call for nominations, ANA Executive Director Edward C. Rochette says, “The Association seeks to promote numismatics through the education of its members, the general public and the numismatic community. Award nominations are vital to help the ANA identify and acknowledge those individuals and organizations who share our common goal and are exceptionally dedicated in helping us reach it.”

The deadline for ANA award nominations is January 19, 2001. All nominations must include date of submission, and name, birth date (if possible) and background of nominee, including awards received, support of the hobby, etc. (Nominees must be ANA members unless otherwise noted.)

Farran Zerbe Memorial Award (highest honor conferred by the ANA) – Recognizes an individual for numerous years of outstanding service to the ANA as well as dedicated service to the field of numismatics. The nominee should be a Medal of Merit and Glenn Smedley Memorial Award recipient.

Medal of Merit – Recognizes individuals who have dedicated numerous years of service to the ANA, and promoted the hobby and numismatics. Nominees should be Glenn Smedley recipients.

Glenn Smedley Memorial Award (created in memory of Glenn B. Smedley – a collector’s collector) – Recognizes individuals who have devoted their efforts to the betterment of the ANA. Nominees should be involved in volunteer service to the ANA either on a local, regional or national level. Nominees also should exhibit a positive attitude, strong communication skills, cooperation and dependability.

Lifetime Achievement Award – Presented to individuals, families, firms or judicial entities that have made outstanding contributions to organized numismatics. Nominees also should have a strong record of professional involvement in numismatics. (This award is not limited to ANA members.)

Numismatic Art Award for Excellence in Medallic Sculpture – Presented to an artist whose cumulative lifetime achievement in the field of medallic sculpture has been of the highest order. (This award is not limited to ANA members.)

Outstanding Government Service Award – Recognizes individuals in public service (working for a government, governmental agency or international organization, or retired or separated from such organization in the 12 months immediately prior to the bestowal of the award) who have helped advance the interests of collectors of coins, tokens, medals and paper money. (This award is not limited to ANA members.)

Exemplary Service Award – Recognizes individuals or entities (clubs, corporations, firms or associations) who have performed services on behalf of the ANA that are “above and beyond” the call. Nominees should have attained goals of lasting significance to the ANA and the numismatic hobby. (This award is not limited to ANA members.)

Terry Armstrong Memorial Award for Outstanding Regional Coordinator – Recognizes the most outstanding Regional Coordinator of the year. Nominees will be judged on numismatic promotion and recruitment in their communities, including clubs and shows; and active involvement and interaction with ANA District Delegates and Club Representatives.

Outstanding District Delegate Award – Recognizes the District Delegate who most fully promotes coin collecting, coin clubs and the ANA. Nominees will be evaluated on, but not limited to, two or more of the following areas: contributions to the hobby; promotion of the ANA; participation in National Coin Week; recruitment of new members; and involvement in club activities and local, regional and national committees.

Outstanding Club Representative Award – Recognizes an individual who serves his/her coin club with exemplary enthusiasm and dedication. Nominees should meet the same criteria as that for the “Outstanding District Delegate.”

Outstanding Adult Advisor Award – Recognizes an adult leader or mentor who has devoted his/her efforts to recruiting young numismatists (YNs) and aided the development of intermediate to advanced YNs. Nominees will be judged on their contributions to YN programs, such as serving as a YN club advisor; arranging tours and convention programs; giving talks to YN groups; participating in Boy and Girl Scout programs; recruiting YN members; writing articles for YN publications; and participating in other youth activities.

Outstanding Young Numismatist – Honors a young numismatist for outstanding numismatic contributions to the hobby. Nominees for this award must be ANA members under the age of 23 and must submit an official application describing his/her numismatic activities and accomplishments during the past year. Nominees will be judged on exhibits, presentations, articles, research, volunteer service and personal achievements. Nominees also should demonstrate a positive attitude, strong communication skills, cooperation and dependability, as well as an interest in expanding his/her knowledge of numismatics.

For more information or to obtain a nomination packet, contact the ANA Awards Department, 818 N. Cascade Ave., Colorado Springs, CO 80903-3279; telephone 719/632-2646; fax 719/634-4085; Email; or visit the ANA web site at

Originally Release Date: October 24, 2000
ANA Contacts: Phone: 719-482-9820

Return to top