ANA seeks dealer opinions from focus group in Baltimore

September 23, 2002 By ekr

ANA seeks dealer opinions from focus group in Baltimore

The American Numismatic Association (ANA) will meet with a cross-section of dealers in Baltimore in an ongoing effort to improve and expand the ANA’s convention bourse policy and procedures.

Convention sites, days and closing times, and the early departure policy will be discussed with ANA dealers participating in a focus group meeting at the Baltimore Coin and Currency Convention at the Baltimore Convention Center, November 8-10. ANA Governor M. Remy Bourne, chairman of the Association’s Dealer Relations Committee, Convention Manager Brenda Bishop and incoming Executive Director Christopher Cipoletti will facilitate the fact-finding focus group.

“The ANA continues to be open for comments on its conventions,” Bourne says. “The ANA Convention Department has surveyed dealers on these issues, and now we are seeking additional discussion from a cross-section of some of the most traveled and well-respected dealers in the country. Brenda, Chris and I will be there to encourage a dialogue and to listen, but mostly listen. My goal is to take this input to the Board of Governors’ meeting in Charlotte, North Carolina, next spring during the ANA’s National Money Showâ„¢ for review and possible action.”

This summer, the ANA surveyed its member-dealers about possible locations for spring and summer convention sites, days of the week those shows should be held, and closing time of the final day of the shows. (The National Money Show currently is held Friday through Sunday and the World’s Fair of Money® is held from Wednesday through Sunday.) Survey results will be shared with members of the focus group and with the ANA membership following the Baltimore meeting.

Focus group participants were chosen by Bishop, Bourne and Dealer Relations Committee members Don Bailey, Kevin Foley, Cindy Grellman, Judy Kagin, Julian Leidman, Jerry Morgan, Selby Ungar, and Fred Weinberg. In addition to the committee members, dealers invited to participate in this focus group include Gary Adkins, David and Gordon Berg, Jack Beymer, Phil Bressett, Randy Campbell, Steven Ellsworth, Mike Faraone, John Ferm, Stephen Goldsmith, Tom Hallenbeck, Steve Ivy, Al Johnbrier, Don Kagin, Ed Kuszmar, Jess Lipka, Andy Lustig, Robert Mangels Sr., Harry Miller, Chris Napolitano, William Rosenblum, Ed Rothberg, John Rowe, James Simek, David Sundman and Johnny Woodside. 

Originally Release Date: September 23, 2002
ANA Contacts: Phone: 719-482-9872
Return to top