ANA’s 2000 Medal of Merit Awards

August 11, 2000 By ekr

ANA’s 2000 Medal of Merit Awards 

Each year the American Numismatic Association (ANA) awards its Medal of Merit in recognition of numerous years of dedicated, outstanding service to the Association. At the ANA Awards Ceremony at the Association’s 109th Anniversary Convention in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, the prestigious award – including a certificate and an engraved, silver medal– was bestowed on three, hardworking supporters.

David T. Alexander of Mahopac, New York, is one of America’s foremost auction catalogers and numismatic editors, has spent nearly 50 years in the hobby. A former Coin World staff member and the last executive editor of Numismatic Scrapbook, Alexander is a contributing editor to COINage magazine, and editor of The Coin World Comprehensive Catalog and Encyclopedia of United States Coins. He also has contributed to several numismatic references, including the revised editions of Medallic Portraits of Washington in 1985 and 1999.

Holding bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Miami, Alexander served as director of the Historical Museum of Southern Florida, spearheading its relocation from a former residence to a new, county-built facility. Currently a cataloger of United States and world coins for Stack’s in New York, he also has served as medal cataloger for Johnson & Jensen of Danbury, Connecticut; cataloging services director for Kagin’s of Des Moines, Iowa; and auction director for Numismatic Auctions of Florida; as well as heading his own firm.

Alexander has received numerous awards, including the Numismatic Literary Guild Clemy (1987); the Society of International Numismatics Silver Medal of Merit (1990); Numismatic News Numismatic Ambassador Award (1995); and the ANA’s Glenn B. Smedley Memorial Award (1999).

A life member of the ANA, Alexander holds membership in a number of other numismatic organizations, including the American Numismatic Society, Society for International Numismatics, Numismatic Literary Guild, Society of Medalists, American Medallic Sculpture Association, Numismatic Bibliomania Society, Rittenhouse Society, Medal Collectors of America, and New York Numismatic Club.

Donald B. Charters of Wayne, Michigan, is a national volunteer for the ANA and longstanding member of the Michigan State Numismatic Society, having served on its board of governors and as first and second vice president. Past president of the Wayne Coin Club, he also has served as vice president of the Northwest Detroit Coin Club. Charters has worked as coin buyer for C. Louise Jewelers, and counseled seniors and others on Medicare and Medicaid. A life member of the ANA, he has received honors from a number of numismatic organizations, including the ANA’s Glenn B. Smedley Memorial Award in 1998.

J.T. Stanton of Savannah, Georgia, is a numismatic error and variety scholar, coin photographer and hobby “concerned citizen.” A life member of the ANA and former member of its Board of Governors, Stanton began collecting coins when he was 7 and is noted for co-authoring the Cherrypickers’ Guide to Rare Die Varieties, a standard reference on the subject.

A life member of the ANA, Stanton also is served on the board of directors and as president of the Combined Organizations of Numismatic Error Collectors of America (CONECA). He also has served as editor of “Split Image,” the newsletter of the Double Die Club, and as an instructor for a decade at the ANA’s Annual Summer Seminar.

Stanton has been recognized by a number of organizations and is the 1992 recipient of the ANA’s Outstanding Adult Advisor Award and 1997 Glenn B. Smedley Memorial Award. In bestowing its Medal of Merit on David T. Alexander, Donald W. Charters and J.T. Stanton, the American Numismatic Association presents a silver medal to each and expresses the sincere appreciation of its members for their service.

Originally Release Date: August 11, 2000
ANA Contacts: Phone: 719-482-9872
Return to top