ANA’s 2001 Medal of Merit Awards

August 10, 2001 By ekr

ANA’s 2001 Medal of Merit Awards

Each year, the American Numismatic Association (ANA) awards its Medal of Merit in recognition of numerous years of dedicated, outstanding service to the Association.

At the ANA’s 110th Anniversary Convention Awards Ceremony, August 11, in Atlanta, Georgia, the prestigious award – including a certificate and an engraved, silver medal – was bestowed on three long-time supporters: John R. Eshbach of Lancaster, Pennyslvania; Robert H. Lloyd of Payson, Arizona; and Louis C. Villalpando of Biloxi, Mississippi.

John R. Eshbach joined the ANA in 1962 and became involved with the Red Rose Coin Club of Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Within three years, he served the organization as president and was instrumental in the formation of the Central Pennsylvania Numismatic Association. He became involved in the ANA Representative Program in 1968, later serving as a district delegate and then regional coordinator for Region 14.

Eshbach has served as an exhibit judge at every ANA anniversary convention since 1970, and has himself won many exhibit awards. With friend and fellow Pennsylvania collector Gerald Kochel, he conducted a class on exhibiting at the 1999 and 2000 ANA Summer Seminars in Colorado Springs.

Almost unnoticed, Esbach donated much of his time creating and assembling special souvenirs for the ANA’s 109th Anniversary Convention banquet in Philadelphia.

Robert H. Lloyd became an ANA member in 1926 when he was only 20 years old. The first ANA member to achieve 75 continuous years of membership, he was elected to the ANA Board of Governors in 1930 at the age of 24. At the same time, Lloyd also maintained the position of secretary of the Buffalo Numismatic Association and served as chairman of the 1930 Committee on Convention Papers.

While on the ANA Board of Governors, Lloyd served on the ANA’s Finance and Auditing, Banquet and Program Committees. He was a member of the Convention Advisory Board, Program, Registration and Trips Committees for the ANA’s 1947 convention, and has been a member of the ANA Numismatic Hall of Fame Advisory Board for a number of years.

Lloyd is regarded by many as one of the leading authorities on small-size paper money. From 1927 to 1947, The Numismatist featured many articles (more than 40) penned by him, most of which focused on bank notes.

Louis C. Villalpando volunteers as ANA assistant floor manager at ANA conventions, a responsibility he has willingly shouldered for the last six years. Currently a board member of the Mississippi State Numismatic Association, he has been actively involved with almost every coin club and show in southern Louisiana, Mississippi and the Gulf Coast.

The 70-year-old Villalpando has the energy and dedication of someone half his age. In 2000 the ANA recognized his exemplary service with presentation of the Glenn Smedley Memorial Award

In bestowing its Medal of Merit on John R. Eshbach, Robert H. Lloyd and Louis C. Villalpando, the American Numismatic Association presented a silver medal to each and expresses the sincere appreciation of its members for their service.

Originally Release Date: August 10, 2001
ANA Contacts: Phone: 719-482-9872
Return to top