Bressett, Sauvain Receive Honorary Doctorates at 2009 Summer Seminar

July 14, 2009 By ekr

Bressett, Sauvain Receive Honorary Doctorates at 2009 Summer Seminar

American Numismatic Association Past President Kenneth Bressett and former ANA authentication expert Mary Sauvain each were presented the Honorary Degree of Doctor of Numismatics at the ANA’s 41st annual Summer Seminar. The doctorates were given to recognize longtime dedication to Summer Seminar as instructors.

Kenneth Bressett began teaching at Summer Seminar in 1974, and is well-known as the longtime editor of A Guide Book of United States Coins (The Red Book). Bressett has served the ANA as Director of Coin Authentication, and on its Board as Governor, Vice President and President. Bressett was appointed to the U.S. Assay Commission by President Lyndon Johnson. He has received many ANA awards, including election to the Numismatic Hall of Fame, the Medal of Merit, and the Farran Zerbe Award. Bressett received his degree July 9.

Mary Sauvain has been teaching authentication and grading at Summer Seminar since 1985. She was presented the Glenn Smedley Award in 2000 and the ANA Presidential Award in 2003. Sauvain authored monthly counterfeit detection articles for The Numismatist while employed by the ANA’s Certification Service, and monthly articles for Coin World in the early 1990s called “The Coin Detective.” She received her degree July 2.

The ANA’s Doctor of Numismatics degree is reserved for longtime excellence in instruction during Summer Seminar, and has been received by six individuals. In 1989, seminar cofounders Edward C. Rochette and the late Adna G. Wilde received the first two doctorates. During the 40th annual event in 2008, longtime instructors Bill Fivaz and J.P. Martin were honored.

Originally Release Date: July 14, 2009
ANA Contacts: Phone: 719-482-9814
Return to top