Eric P. Newman recieves numismatic writing award

August 11, 2001 By ekr

Eric P. Newman recieves numismatic writing award

The Burnett Anderson Memorial Award for Excellence in Numismatic Writing is presented annually to a researcher, author or journalist in recognition of his or her career contributions to numismatics and is judged on the recipient’s body of work.

First conferred posthumously in 1999 to its namesake – a newsman’s journalist – the award is sponsored by Krause Publications. The recipient is selected in a cooperative process by the American Numismatic Association (ANA), American Numismatic Society (ANS) and Numismatic Literary Guild (NLG).

The 2001 recipient of the award for excellence in numismatic writing is Eric P. Newman. The award was presented by Barbara J. Gregory, editor of the ANA’s monthly journal, The Numismatist, at the Association’s 110th Anniversary Convention Awards and Installation Banquet in Atlanta, August 11.

A long-time member of the ANA and ANS, Newman is respected for his work as an author, speaker and researcher. For more than six decades, Newman has demonstrated his support of numismatics, consistently exemplifying the highest attributes and giving freely of himself for the betterment of the hobby. Still very active, he regularly participates in the ANA’s Summer Seminar and anniversary conventions.

A graduate of Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Washington (Missouri) University School of Law, Newman began collecting American coins, tokens and paper money nearly 75 years ago, when his grandfather gave him an 1859 cent. He enriched the study of numismatics over the next seven decades by writing numerous books and articles; establishing a personal museum of numismatic items at the Mercantile Tower in St. Louis; and serving as a member of the Coins and Medals Advisory Panel of the American Revolution Bicentennial Commission and as a long-time counselor to the American Numismatic Society in New York City.

Among the books Newman has written or co-authored are: The Early Paper Money of America; The Fantastic 1804 Dollar, with Kenneth E. Bressett; The Fantastic 1804 Dollar: 25th Anniversary Follow-Up; The 1776 Continental Currency Coinage: Varieties of the Fugio Cent; and U.S. Coin Scales and Counterfeit Coin Detectors, with A. George Mallis. He also edited Studies on Money in Early America, and has written many articles for The Numismatist, ANS and the American Philosophical Society.

Newman has received nearly every ANA award, including 15 literary awards; the Medal of Merit (1964); the Exemplary Service Award (1993); and the Farran Zerbe Memorial Award (1969), the ANA’s highest honor. He is a 1986 inductee into the Association’s prestigious Numismatic Hall of Fame, and in 1996 was named Numismatist of the Year.

In bestowing upon Eric P. Newman the Burnett Anderson Memorial Award for Excellence in Numismatic Writing, the American Numismatic Association, American Numismatic Society and Numismatic Literary Guild express the sincere appreciation of their members. 

Originally Release Date: August 11, 2001
ANA Contacts: Phone: 719-482-9872
Return to top