Fifteen are on election ballot for ANA Board of Governors

April 4, 2001 By ekr

Fifteen are on election ballot for ANA Board of Governors

Fifteen members of the American Numismatic Association (ANA) accepted their nominations by the April 7 deadline for positions on the ANA Board of Governors for the 2001-2003 term.

The Board consists of a president, vice president and seven governors. All serve two-year terms, and all are elected by the ANA membership on an at-large basis. Nearly 1,200 nominations were received, including nearly 450 nominations from more than 185 member-clubs and more than 630 individual nominations.

Candidates were required to receive a minimum of five club and five individual nominations between December 1, 2000, and March 31, 2001. Clubs and individual members were limited to nominating no more than seven candidates for governor, and one each for vice president and president.

Past Governor Will Rossman of Dallas, Texas, and Vice President John Wilson of Ocala, Florida, are vying to be the next president of the 110-year-old Association. Governors Alan Herbert of Mesa, Arizona, and Gary Lewis of Cape Coral, Florida, are running for the ANA vice presidency.

Candidates for governor are (alphabetically): 
  • – M. Remy Bourne of Minneapolis, Minnesota 
  • – Steven K. Ellsworth of Clifton, Virginia 
  • – Patricia A. Finner of Iola, Wisconsin 
  • – Arthur M. Fitts III of Framingham, Massachusetts 
  • – William H. Horton Jr. of Keyport, New Jersey 
  • – Karen Jach of Milwaukee, Wisconsin 
  • – Jerry Lebo of Logansport, Indiana 
  • – Kay Edgerton Lenker of San Diego, California 
  • – Walter A. Ostromecki Jr. of Panorama City, California 
  • – Barry S. Stuppler of Woodland Hills, California 
  • – Gar Travis of Jacksonville, North Carolina

Election ballots, as well as a photograph, biography and platform for each candidate (supplied by the candidate), will be sent by the ANA’s auditing firm – Grant Thornton LLP – to eligible voting ANA members by May 31 via first-class mail. Candidate photographs, biographies and platforms also will be published in the June issue of The Numismatist. Ballots must be returned to Grant Thornton by July 19. Election results will be announced on or before July 29, and the new Board of Governors will be sworn in at the ANA’s 110th Anniversary Convention in Atlanta, Georgia, August 8-12.

Originally Release Date: April 4, 2001
ANA Contacts: Phone: 719-482-9872
Return to top