Fifteen names on election ballot for ANA Board of Governors

April 8, 2003 By ekr

Fifteen names on election ballot for ANA Board of Governors

Fifteen members of the American Numismatic Association (ANA) have accepted their nominations for positions on the 2003-2005 ANA Board of Governors.

The Board consists of a president, vice president and seven governors. All serve two-year terms, and all are elected by the ANA membership on an at-large basis.

More than 1,000 nominations were received; 475 from some 175 member-clubs and more than 430 from individual members.

Candidates were required to receive a minimum of five club and five individual nominations between December 1, 2002, and March 31, 2003. Clubs as well as individual members were limited to nominating no more than seven candidates for governor, and one each for vice president and president.

Patricia Finner of Iola, Wisconsin, and Gary Lewis of Cape Coral, Florida, are vying to be the next president of the 112-year-old Association.

William H. Horton Jr. of Keyport, New Jersey, and Kay Edgerton Lenker of San Diego, California, are running for the ANA vice presidential spot.

Candidates for governor are (alphabetically):
  • • M. Remy Bourne of Vadnais Heights, Minnesota
  • • Michael S. Fey of Morris Plains, New Jersey
  • • Arthur M. Fitts III of Framingham, Massachusetts
  • • Alan Herbert of Belle Fourche, South Dakota
  • • Donald H. Kagin of Tiburon, California
  • • Robert Korver of Carrollton, Texas
  • • Walter A. Ostromecki Jr. of Panorama City, California
  • • Will Rossman of Estes Park, Colorado
  • • Barry S. Stuppler of Woodland Hills, California
  • • Anthony A. Tumonis of Tucson, Arizona
  • • John W. Wilson of Ocala, Florida

Election ballots, as well as a photograph and a biography/platform supplied by each candidate, will be sent by the independent auditing firm of BiggsKofford, P.C., to eligible voting ANA members. Mailed by May 31, the envelope will indicate that a ballot is enclosed. Candidate photographs and biographies/platforms also will be published in the June issue of the ANA’s Numismatist magazine.

Ballots must be returned to the auditing firm by July 10. Election results will be announced on or before July 20, and the new Board of Governors will be sworn in at the ANA’s 112th Anniversary Convention banquet in Baltimore, Maryland, on August 2.

Originally Release Date: April 8, 2003
ANA Contacts: Phone: 719-482-9872
Return to top