Five induced into ANA Numismatic Hall of Fame

August 3, 2002 By ekr

Five induced into ANA Numismatic Hall of Fame

The American Numismatic Association (ANA) inducts the following individuals into the Numismatic Hall of Fame in recognition of their overall contributions to and outstanding achievements in numismatics. This year’s inductees are divided in two groups – Category I, those who were deceased prior to 1960, and Category II, those who are living or deceased since 1960.


William Ewing DuBois (1810-81)

William E. DuBois, a 19th-century numismatic author, became the first curator of the United States Mint’s collection – a position he held until his death. A lawyer, who reportedly was unsuited for practice, he went to work for his Uncle Samuel Moore, the director of the Mint, in 1833.

Born in Doylestown, Pennsylvania, where he studied law and passed the bar at age 22, DuBois became the clerk to the Mint director and two years later began working in the assay department under Jacob R. Eckfeldt, whose father, Adam, built much of the Mint’s early equipment and served as chief coiner from 1814-39. Dubois and younger Eckfeldt were long time friends, and DuBois married his supervisor’s sister in 1841 and succeeded him as chief assayer in 1872.

Formation of the Mint’s collection was authorized in 1838 by another of Dubois’ uncles, Robert Maskell Patterson. Four years later, DuBois co-published the first of two books with Eckfeldt, Manual of Gold and Silver Coins of All Nations. In 1850 the pair published New Varieties of Gold and Silver Coins. On his own, Dubois authored Pledges of History: A Brief Account of the Collection of Coins Belonging to the Mint of the United States in 1846, On the Natural Dissemination of Gold in 1861, Propositions for a Revised System of Weights in 1869 and A Brief Sketch of Jacob R. Eckfeldt in 1872.

DuBois, who was an honorary member of the Boston Numismatic Society, completed nearly 48 years of service to the Mint when he died in 1881.

James Ross Snowden (1809-1878)

James R. Snowden served as director of the United States Mint from 1853 to 1861 and established the Mint’s collection of Washington medals.

Born in Chester, Pennsylvania, Snowden had two great interests: numismatics and the law. He served in the Pennsylvania State House of Representatives from 1838 to 1844 – the last 
two-years as Speaker, before being elected state treasurer. In 1848 he was appointed treasurer of the United States Mint, and, after two years, returned to a private law practice. 
In June 1853, President Benjamin Pierce named Snowden director of the Mint, a position he held until he was appointed to the Pennsylvania Supreme Court, where he remained until 1873.

During his tenure at the Mint, Snowden wrote A Description of Ancient and Modern Coins in the Cabinet Collection at the Mint of the United States, (1860) and A Description of the Medals of Washington; of National and Miscellaneous Medals; and of Other Objects of Interest in the Museum of the Mint (1861). His image is depicted on a Mint medal, reflecting his many contributions over the years.

Category II

Amon G. Carter Jr. (1919-82)

Amon Carter’s great contribution to the hobby was his willingness to share his knowledge and his great numismatic collection with even the most humble collector. Even though he was a wealthy businessman, Carter was the most approachable of the big collectors and one of the most cooperative to hobbyists where ever he went.

Born in Fort Worth, Texas, Carter graduated from the University of Texas in 1941 and served in the Army during World War II, spending more than two years as a German prisoner of war. He was awarded the Purple Heart and Bronze Star for duty well served. Professionally, he was the publisher of the Fort Worth Star-Telegram, on the boards of directors of AmericanAirlines and the Overton National Bank, and part owner of the Texas Rangers baseball team.

However, it was numismatics that captured his heart, and Carter contributed his knowledge to individual collectors and to the hobby as a whole. He operated the Amon Carter Museum of Western Art in Fort Worth and in 1960 served on the United States Assay Commission.

Bill Fivaz (1934 – )

A collector for more than 50 years and an enthusiastic numismatist for more than 40, Bill Fivaz of Dunwoody, Georgia, began collecting coins with a few Liberty Head nickels and Indian Head cents from his father and uncle. His passion for sharing his numismatic knowledge has led others to regard him as one of the most popular and respected educators in the field. For more than 20 years, his wit and easy-going nature have made his course on United States coin grading a sold out event at the annual ANA Summer Seminar.

Fivaz, a past member of the ANA’s Board of Governors (1985-89), is the recipient of many ANA awards, including Outstanding Adult Advisor, Glenn Smedley Memorial Award, two Medals of Merit and the Farran Zerbe Memorial Award, the organization’s highest honor. He served as general chairman of the ANA’s 110th Anniversary Convention in Atlanta (2001), where he was named Numismatist of the Year.

A past president of the Numismatic Error Collectors of America (NECA), Fivaz is a contributor to A Guide Book of United States Coins (known as the “Red Book”) and other references, and is co-author of The Cherrypickers’ Guide to Rare Die Varieties.

Adna G. Wilde Jr. (1920 – )

Adna G. Wilde Jr., an ANA member for more than 55 years, has served the Association for more than 35 years, as its executive director, president and treasurer – a position he has held 
for nearly 20 years. His work for the ANA followed his retirement from a distinguished career in the United States Army, with service in Italy during World War II, for which he was awarded the Purple Heart medal; in Korea, where he participated in the Inchon landing; and in Vietnam, where he served under General William Westmoreland.

Born in Vicksburg, Mississippi, in 1920, Wilde began collecting in 1940 and became a member of the ANA in 1947. He graduated from The Citadel in 1943 and attended the University of Virginia in 1948.

In addition to serving as ANA executive director from 1968-72, and on the Board of Governors from 1973-83, Wilde served on the U.S. Assay Commission in 1975. He also was director of the Colorado Springs Pioneers Museum from 1973-81.

The author of several articles for The Numismatist, Wilde received an ANA Heath Literary Award for his 1978 article “Lesher Referendum Medals: Where Are They Today,” which has been reprinted in booklet form. He also is considered an authority counterstamped Stone Mountain commemorative half dollars, about which he wrote an article for The Numismatist in 1987 and which also was reprinted in booklet form.

Wilde is the recipient of the ANA’s Exemplary Service Award, Lifetime Achievement Award, Medal of Merit and the Association’s highest honor, the Farran Zerbe Memorial Award for Distinguished Service. 

Photographs of Amon G. Carter, William E. DuBois, Bill Fivaz, James R. Snowden and Adna G. Wilde Jr., will be enshrined in the Numismatic Hall of Fame Gallery at the ANA Money Museum in Colorado Springs, Colorado. For their long-lasting, individual contributions to numismatics, the Association expresses the sincere appreciation of its members. 

Originally Release Date: August 3, 2002
ANA Contacts: Phone: 719-482-9872
Return to top