Glenn Smedley Memorial Awards Presented At Denver Show

August 19, 2006 By ekr

Glenn Smedley Memorial Awards Presented At Denver Show

Acknowledging those who demonstrate the spirit of the late Glenn Smedley, a member of the American Numismatic Association (ANA) and hobby enthusiast who was known as a “collector’s collector,” the ANA annually presents its Glenn Smedley Memorial Award. 

Five noted numismatists received Glenn Smedley Memorial Award medals at the World’s Fair of Money┬« in Denver on August 18: 

Harlan J. Berk, Chicago, IL. An expert in the field of Ancient numismatics, Berk sponsors and supplies all of the prizes for the ANA David R. Cervin Ancient Coin Project for YNs. He also has been an instructor at the ANA Summer Seminar. Berk is a dedicated coin dealer and friend to the ANA and the coin collecting community. 

Charles O. Browne, East Derry, NH. Browne has shared his skills and taught advanced grading skills to dozens of students at the ANA Summer Seminar. 

Roland Finner, Iola, WI. Finner is a collector, researcher and long-time exhibitor. He is an expert in the field of Norse-American medals. He is active in regional and national organizations, including the ANA, efficiently staffing the convention message center. Ron Guth, La Jolla, CA. Guth, president of Professional Coin Grading Service (PCGS) served on the ANA Finance Committee and has been involved professionally in numismatics for nearly forty years as a collector, dealer, researcher, and writer. 

Kerry K. Wetterstrom, Lancaster, PA. An expert in ancient numismatics, Wetterstrom is active in all levels of numismatics. He is the editor of The Celator and has been an instructor at the ANA Summer Seminar for over 10 years. 

Originally Release Date: August 19,2006
ANA Contacts: Phone: 719-482-9864
Return to top