Literary Awards Presented at ANA World’s Fair of Money®

August 19, 2006 By ekr

Literary Awards Presented at ANA World’s Fair of Money® 

The ANA’s 2006 literary awards recognizing articles published in the 2005 volume of the ANA’s official magazine, Numismatist were announced August 18 at the World’s Fair of Money® in Denver, Colorado. 

Nicholas A. Forster received the Heath Literary Award for his January 2005 article, The Mint Goes to the Movies. New to the pages of Numismatist, the British author related how the Royal Mint made money in the back lots of rural London¹s Pinewood Studios during World War II. Forster received $250 and a bronze medal. 

Katherine Jaeger received the second-place award ($100) for Buried in Brooklyn (February 2005), in which she tracked down the final resting places of New York engravers and die-sinkers in Green-Wood Cemetery. Jaeger also received a second-place Wayte and Olga Raymond Memorial Literary Award ($200). 

Nancy Oliver and Richard Kelly took third-place honors for The Saga of the 1870-S Silver Dollar(May 2005), which revealed long-forgotten facts about the mysterious San Francisco Mint issue. They also received a first-place Wayte and Olga Raymond Memorial Literary Award ($400). Certificates of honorable mention were presented to R.W. Julian for All about the Quarter (December 2005) and Rick Kay for The Remarkable Coinage of James B. Longacre (April 2005). 

John M. Salviani received the Catherine Sheehan Literary Award for U.S. Paper Money Studies ($50) for his article Butter Money (April 2005), which told the story of obsolete Goshen, New York, bank notes that reflected the growth of the local dairy industry in the 1800s. 

Originally Release Date: August 19, 2006
ANA Contacts: Phone: 719-482-9864
Return to top