Moe Weinschel recieves ANA exemplary service award

August 10, 2001 By ekr

Moe Weinschel recieves ANA exemplary service award

The American Numismatic Association (ANA) Exemplary Service Award is presented for services performed on behalf of the ANA.

First conferred in 1991, the ANA Exemplary Service Award is presented to an individual, club or corporation, firm or association whose services to the ANA are deemed “above and beyond the call.” The 2001 recipient is Moe Weinschel.

Moe Weinschel of Far Rockaway, New York, has been an ANA member for more than 50 years and started collecting coins when he was only 12 years old. Weinschel is a great supporter and promoter of numismatics in his home state of New York.Weinschel began his collection with Indian Head cents and by earning a Boy Scout merit badge on coin collecting. Even though he has come a long way since he made his Scout pledges, he has not forgotten them and now funds and donates to ANA Young Numismatist activities.

The ANA is not the only numismatic association that claims Weinschel as a member. He also belongs to the American Israel Numismatic Association (AINA), which he joined in 1968. He has been a member of the AINA board since 1970 and president since 1988. Weinschel was, in fact, one of the founding members of the AINA in Brooklyn, as well as a founding member and past president of the Israel Numismatic Society of Queens (New York).

His efforts in founding new clubs did not end in Queens. Weinschel also founded and presided as president of the Israel Numismatic Society of Long Island. Weinschel wanted to make sure that he had the entire state of New York covered and, therefore, went on to become a member and president of the Israel Numismatic Society of New York.

This king of coin collecting in New York also is a member of a number of other organizations, including the Long Island Coin Club, Token and Medal Society (TAMS) and Florida United 
Numismatists (FUN). Weinschel presided as a convention coordinator and chairman of Greater New York Numismatic Conventions in 1972 and 1989. He also is a committee chairman for Grand Central Coin Conventions and Metropolitan New York Coin Conventions, and served as general chairman of the ANA’s 106th Anniversary Convention in New York City in 1997. Despite Weinschel’s busy schedule, he still finds time to maintain a frequent role as an exhibitor at club meetings and other numismatic functions.

Weinschel did not want to leave any stone unturned in the numismatic garden. Therefore, he also became a writer of feature articles in Numismatic Scrapbook magazine and Numismatic News. As president of the AINA, Weinschel also writes the bimonthly president’s message for “The Shekel.”

Judging has sparked Weinschel’s interest over the years, and he has been a member of the judging committee for the Krause Publications Coins of the Year award, the TAMS “Ben & Sylvia Odesser” literary award and the annual AINA medal.

 Weinschel has not just judged awards, he has also won some. He is a recipient of the ANA Medal of Merit (1995) and the Goodfellow Award (1997). With all of these responsibilities, it will be amazing if Weinschel can even find the time to accept the honor proposed for him this year.In bestowing the Exemplary Service Award, the American Numismatic Association presents a certificate and expresses the sincere appreciation of its members.

Originally Release Date: August 10,2001
ANA Contacts: Phone: 719-482-9872
Return to top