Notable Numismatists honored with service awards

July 25, 2014 By ekr


Recipients recognized at Chicago World’s Fair of Money Awards Banquet

The recipients of the 2014 Medal of Merit, Glenn Smedley Memorial Award, Adna G. Wilde Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence, Numismatic Art Award for Excellence in Medallic Sculpture and Exemplary Service Award will be formally recognized at the upcoming Chicago World’s Fair of MoneySM, to be held at the Donald E. Stephens Convention Center in Rosemont, Illinois, Aug. 5-9.

Michael Ray Fuljenz and C. Frederick Schwan will be awarded the Medal of Merit, which is presented to honor individuals who have dedicated numerous years of service to the association and promotion of the hobby. Fuljenz has been honored for his years of support of the ANA and his contributions and achievements in the field of numismatics. Schwan has worked extensively in the field of military and emergency money.
The Glenn Smedley Memorial Award was created in memory of Glenn B. Smedley to recognize individuals who have devoted their efforts to the betterment of the American Numismatic Association. The 2014 honorees are: Halbert Carmichael, who served as a national publicity chairman, exhibit chairman, exhibit judge, assistant chief judge and chair of ANA Exhibits and Awards Committee; David Crenshaw, a longtime volunteer for ANA member clubs and hobby organizations including the Georgia Numismatic Association; Clark W. Fogg, a Summer Seminar instructor and numismatic photographer; Eric Holcomb, an ANA district delegate, regional representative and editor of MintMark; and Simcha L. Kuritzky, a member of several ANA committees as well as a district and regional representative.
Richard Jozefiak will be awarded the Adna G. Wilde Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence for his extensive work in numismatics, including numerous educational articles and presentations as well an instructor at the 2013 ANA Summer Seminar. The award is named in honor of Lt. Col. (Ret.) and ANA Past President Adna G. Wilde Jr. and is awarded to an ANA member who dedicates his or her time and resources to strengthen the hobby, further the educational mission of the ANA and set an example for others to follow.
The Numismatic Art Award for Excellence in Medallic Sculpture will be awarded to Ron Dutton. This award honors an artist whose cumulative lifetime achievements in the field of medallic sculpture has been of the highest order.
Dorothy C. Baber will be awarded the Exemplary Service Award for her countless hours volunteering for the hobby. The award recognizes an individual or entity (club, corporation, firm or association) who has performed services on behalf of the ANA that are “above and beyond” the call.

Read more about the Medal of Merit, Adna G. Wilde Jr. Memorial, Numismatic Art and Exemplary Service Awards in the August issue of The Numismatist. Look for more information about the Glenn Smedley Memorial Award recipients in the September issue.

The American Numismatic Association is a congressionally chartered nonprofit educational organization dedicated to encouraging people to study and collect money and related items. The ANA helps its 25,500 members and the public discover and explore the world of money through its vast array of education and outreach programs, as well as its museum, library, publications, conventions and seminars. For more information, call 719-632-2646 or go to

IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Monday, July 28, 2014
CONTACT: Lauren Springli
Telephone: 719-482-9864

Return to top