Southeast coin clubs elect officials, listen to presentations

February 3, 2015 By ekr


ANA Region 4 Newsletter


February 1st, 2015



Madison County Coin Club – had a program by Richard Jozefiak on “The World of Elongates.” Richard is running for ANA Governor this year.



Ancient City Coin Club – President Charlie Stuart awarded Meritorious Service awards to David James for volunteering and Ray Herz for giving multiple educational programs. Officers for 2015 are; President- Charlie Stuart, VP- Jim Silvia, Corr Sec- David James, Rec Sec- Katey Stuart, Treasurer- Jeff Humerick, Board members are; Phil Knicely, David James, John McGinty, Palmer Midgett.


Brandon Coin Club- elected the following for 2015; President- Paul G, VP-Allen F, 2nd VP- Bill J, General Secretary- Jack I, Recording Secretary- Angie V, Treasurer- Bill J, Bourse- Mark P, Board members are, Ralph P, Norm B, Joshua S, Mary H, Roland B, Club Liaison- Mary H and VP Education- Bill J.


Casselberry Coin Club- elected President- Dick Wells, VP- Zach Lauer, Treasurer- Steve Lauer, and Secretary- BJ Neff. They had a show n tell, raffle and auction.


Central Florida Coin Club – had 47 members at its holiday party. The club collected 42 toys for tots drive. The new website is 


Daytona Beach Coin Club – had a program by Len Guiliani on “Production of the Old Southern Mints.” Bob Hawes showed his large size foreign paper money and Notgeld.


Ft. Lauderdale Coin Club – had 70 members at its banquet. Gregg Wagner was awarded the E.O. Smith Memorial Award. Denis Bernard was awarded the Louis Kleinman award for volunteering. The club finished the year with 220 members.


Ft. Walton Beach Coin Club – had 57 at its last meeting. Officers for 2015 are; President- Max Dawkins, VP- Dave Parenteau, Secretary- Randy Wright, Treasurer- Bill Ottewill


Gold Coast Coin Club – watched an ANA DVD on “The Modern Mint Process.”


Greater Jacksonville Coin Club – Officers for 2015 are; President- Tom Bobbitt, VP-Richard Buchs, Treasurer- John Schubert, Secretary/Webmaster- Kimberly Schubert, Membership Chair- Barbara Bobbitt, Bourse Chair- Matt Adams, Newsletter- Ron Nemes, Librarian- Wendy Kozik and Robert Levan. Board members are Jim Duff, Bill Battles, Linda Battles.


North Lake Coin & Currency Club – had a program on “Graded Sets of Coins,” coins from 1933-47 and a complete graded set of Franklin halves, followed by a raffle, 50/50 drawing and the auction.


Ocala Coin Club – set up at a “Collectors Day” in Gainsville Saturday January 25th. The emphasis was on collections sponsored by the Florida Museum of Natural History. Last year there were over 100 collections with 3,000 attendees. Officers for 2015 are; President- Lawrence McManus, VP- Danny Maloney,Treasurer- Peggy Niccum, Corresponding Secretary/Bourse Chairman- Rich Selvar, Membership Chair- Rose Selvar, Recording secretary/Librarian- Harry Eck, Program & Events Chair- Mark Trout, Auction Coordinator- Fitz Parramore. Tony Bonaro spoke on “Short Snorters.”


Palm Beach Coin Club – elected President- Tony Swicer, VP- Richard Spencer, Treasurer- Robert Leneve, Secretary- Bruce Eleshewich. YN Director- Dan Pecoraro, Webmaster- Rick Carver. Board members are Tony Acevedo, Rick Carver, Jack Diaz, Buddy Hirsh, George Kovacic, Tim Morley, Ed Napoli, Sandy Pearl, Ed Polyanchek, Alan Liemer and Jim Wagner. Members of the club discussed the FUN show with 92 attending the meeting.


Sarasota Coin Club – had 47 at its last meeting. 50th anniversary club medals are still available. Officers for 2015 are as follows; President- David Klein, VP- Mike Marko and Ben Todd, Sec/Treas- Ron Rapoza, Program Director/PR- Bart Bartanowicz


South Brevard Coin Club – had Jack Lane and Richard Ahlquist give a program on “Collecting Foreign Coins.”


Tampa Bay Coin Club – had 30 at its last meeting. Brian Vaile gave a program on “IKE Dollars,” followed by a raffle and auction.


Treasure Coast Coin Club – had Jim Beasley give a program on “Reasonably Priced Coins,” coins that are a reasonable price but still a rarity.


Venice Coin Club – had 35 at its last meeting. They signed up volunteers for their February 6th and 7th coin show. The club had a 20-lot auction.


West Hernando Coin Club – had 28 dealers at its coin show with over 190 in attendance. A gold $5 and four other door prizes were given away. 68 attended the Christmas dinner. The club’s next coin show is February 21st. Officers for 2015 are; President- Sid Kapowitz, VP- Bruce Schneider, Secretary- Alex Zieman, Treasurer- Tim Klosterman, Directors are J. Zieman, J. Fleer, G. Ventre


Stolen Coin Alert – Mark Schwartz of Boynton Beach reported that he had a 1916-D Mercury Dime stolen from his table at the FUN show. It is very recognizable because the hair on the obverse has been re-engraved. If you see it, call Mark at 561-271-6656.




Augusta Coin Club – reported on attending the FUN show in Orlando.



Lower Cape Fear Coin Club – had 25 at its last meeting. Officers for 2015 are; President- Mike McKinnon, VP- Bob Neale, Secretary- Bob Doleman, Treasurer- BJ Lester, Sgt.-at-arms- Jim Savage, Board members are; Karen Foster & OT Thompson. The clubs Azalea Festival Coin Show is April 11th and 12th at the Elks Club Lodge, 5102 Oleander Dr. There will be 35 dealers including a supply dealer. Exhibits include Confederate and Federal paper money relating to the end of the Civil War. There will also be a gold mine exhibit where you can pan for gold and a “Kids Corner.”


Tony Swicer


Retiring from the coin shop March 1st, 2015

Return to top