Steven Middleton and Thomas Mulvaney Named ANA Medal of Merit Recipients

August 19, 2006 By ekr

Steven Middleton and Thomas Mulvaney Named ANA Medal of Merit Recipients 

Steven Middleton and Thomas Mulvaney have been recognized for their years of dedicated service to the American Numismatic Association and long-time support of the collecting hobby with ANA’s prestigious Medal of Merit Award. 

Each received a certificate, an engraved silver medal and the sincere appreciation of the membership during a special awards ceremony Aug. 18 at the ANA World’s Fair of Money®. Middleton of Boonton, N. J., is an enthusiastic hobbyist serving over 25 years as an ANA Club Representative, exhibitor and judge. As an exhibitor, he has created displays at 12 ANA Summer Conventions, earning eight first place exhibit awards in six different categories. He is active in numerous local, state and national numismatic organizations, serving as president, vice president and secretary of the New Jersey Numismatic Society, president and show chairman of the Roxbury (N.J.) Coin Club, coin show publicity chairman of the Sussex County (N.J.) Coin Club, show chairman of the Hackettstown (N.J.) Coin Club and vice president of the New Jersey Exonumia Society. 

He has presented scores of seminars and served as exhibit judge at numerous coin shows. He is a member of ANA, American Numismatic Society, Token And Medal Society, Early American Coppers, Civil War Token Society and the Medal Collectors of America. Mulvaney of Lexington, Ky., is one of the finest numismatic photographers in the hobby. He shares his expertise professionally as the numismatic photographer at Whitman Publishing Company, and as an ANA volunteer conducting, along with Clark Fogg, some of ANA’s most successful classes at the annual Summer Seminar. 
Mulvaney began collecting Lincoln Cents at the age of 11 and quickly moved to collecting Canadian, Mexican and British minor coinage. He currently collects most U.S. coins with preferences to silver dimes through dollars. 

Previous Medal of Merit honorees include Harry Bass, Aubrey Bebee, Joseph E. Boling, Kenneth E. Bressett, Dwight Manley and Bill Fivaz. 

Originally Release Date: August 19, 2006
ANA Contacts: Phone: 719-482-9864
Return to top