Walter Ostromecki Elected ANA Vice President Tom Hallenbeck to be Sworn in as President in Chicago

July 27, 2011 By ekr

Walter Ostromecki Elected ANA Vice President Tom Hallenbeck to be Sworn in as President in Chicago 

Walter Ostromecki has been elected Vice President of the American Numismatic Association in the only contested race in the 2011 ANA Board of Governor balloting.

Ostromecki received 3,217 votes compared with 2,431 for Arthur M. Fitts III. Tom Hallenbeck, who ran unopposed, will become the 57th President of the ANA when he is sworn in at the annual ANA banquet on August 19 at the Chicago World’s Fair of Money. Outgoing President Clifford Mishler was elected to the Board of Governors along with incumbents Jeff Garrett, Scott Rottinghaus and Wendell Wolka. Newcomers elected to the Board are Gary Adkins, Mike Ellis and Greg Lyon.

BiggsKofford, independent auditing firm for the 2011 ANA Board of Governors’ election, counted the ballots and reported the vote tallies. According to ANA bylaws, ballots for uncontested offices are not tabulated. Therefore, only the first vote was counted in all but the vice presidential race.

For President Votes
Tom Hallenbeck 1
Colorado Springs, CO

For Vice President Votes
Walter A. Ostromecki 3,217
Panorama City, CA
Arthur M. Fitts III 2,431
Wolfeboro, NH

Successful Candidates for Governor Votes
Gary Adkins 1
Minneapolis, MN
Mike Ellis 1
Camilla, GA
Jeff C. Garrett 1
Lexington, KY Greg Lyon 1
St. Louis, MO
Clifford Mishler 1
Iola, WI
Scott T. Rottinghaus 1
New London, CT
Wendell A. Wolka 1
Greenwood, IN

Overall, 5,850 ballots were returned in the 2011 election, compared with 8,479 in 2009. Of all ballots cast, 23 were invalid compared with 44 in 2009. The ANA mailed one ballot to each Association member, who was eligible to vote.

All Board members were informed of the election results during a conference call at 1:30 p.m. Mountain Daylight Time, July 27. 

Originally Release Date: July 27, 2011
ANA Contacts: Phone: 719-482-9814
Return to top