WFM Awards Banquet

August 4, 2014 By ekr


Several notable numismatists will be honored during the Awards banquet at the 2014 Chicago World’s Fair of Money in Rosemont, Illinois. The banquet will be tomorrow at the Hyatt Regency OHare Hotel from 7-10 p.m.

  • Hall of Fame numismatist Neil Shafer will be presented with the American Numismatic Association’s highest honor, the 2014 Farran Zerbe Memorial Award for his tireless dedication to the hobby for more than 60 years including being an instructor at Summer Seminar and authoring numismatic articles for major publications.

  • Diane Piret will be recognized as the recipient of the Elvira Clain-Stefanelli Memorial Award for Achievement in Numismatics. Piret has been working professionally in numismatics for more than 40 years. Her experience spans from small town shops to international trading of the industry’s major market makers.  

  • Lee Minshull will receive the Harry J. Forman Dealer of the Year Award for his outstanding contributions to the numismatic community. Each year, Minshull donates a one-ounce Gold Eagle Coin to the ANA’s Outstanding Young Numismatist of the Year, a deed that is not only generous but is encouraging to all young collectors. Minshull was instrumental in raising funds to launch the Robert Lecce Advanced Scholarship Program, which provides merit-based financial aid to Summer Seminar students.

  • Long-time numismatist Gene Hessler will be honored with the American Numismatic Association’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Hessler was the first full-time curator at the Mercantile Money Museum in St. Louis as well as the Chase Manhattan Money Museum in New York City. He has authored 13 books and written and published around 200 articles about the art and designs of security engravers.

  • Ronald J. Guth, a scholar, author, collector and volunteer, is the ANA Numismatist of the Year. Guth has authored numerous numismatic books furthering the hobby and his work has been recognized multiple times by the Numismatic Literary Guild

  • Michael Ray Fuljenz and C. Frederick Schwan will be awarded the Medal of Merit. Fuljenz has been honored for his years of support of the ANA and his contributions and achievements in the field of numismatics. Schwan has worked extensively in the field of military and emergency money.

  • The 2014 Glenn Smedley Memorial Award honorees are: Halbert Carmichael, who served as a national publicity chairman, exhibit chairman, exhibit judge, assistant chief judge and chair of ANA Exhibits and Awards Committee; David Crenshaw, a longtime volunteer for ANA member clubs and hobby organizations including the Georgia Numismatic Association; Clark W. Fogg, for his work as a Summer Seminar instructor and numismatic photographer; Eric Holcomb, for serving the ANA in multiple capacities including district delegate, regional representative and editor of MintMark; and Simcha L. Kuritzky, for sharing his knowledge and time widely by serving on several ANA committees as well as a district and regional representative.

  • Richard Jozefiak will be awarded the Adna G. Wilde Jr. Memorial Award for Excellence for his extensive work in numismatics, including numerous educational articles and presentations as well an instructor at the 2013 ANA Summer Seminar.

  • Ron Dutton with not be in attendance but will be honored with the Numismatic Art Award for Excellence in Medallic Sculpture. This award honors an artist whose cumulative lifetime achievements in the field of medallic sculpture has been of the highest order.

  • Dorothy C. Baber will also not be attending, but will be honored with the Exemplary Service Award for her countless hours volunteering for the hobby. The award recognizes an individual or entity (club, corporation, firm or association) who has performed services on behalf of the ANA that are “above and beyond” the call.

Return to top