Winners Announced in 2008 Club Publications Contest

August 18, 2008 By ekr

Winners Announced in 2008 Club Publications Contest 

The American Numismatic Association announced the winners of its 2008 Outstanding Club Publications Contest during the ANA Representative Program Breakfast on Aug. 2 at the World’s Fair of Money® in Baltimore. 

Each year, the ANA recognizes outstanding publications produced by member numismatic organizations. Submissions are judged in four categories: Local Clubs, Regional Clubs, Specialty Clubs and Electronic Newsletters. 

Local Clubs
  • First Place: “Madison County Coin Club Newsletter,” Madison County Coin Club (Editor: Harold Fears) 
  • Second Place: “The Cincinnati Numismatist,” Cincinnati Numismatic Association (Editor: Katie Heinrich) 
  • Third Place (tie): “MCCA Newsletter,” Metropolitan Coin Club of Atlanta, (Editor: David Crenshaw); and “Stephen James CSRA Coin Club Newsletter,” Stephen James CSRA Coin Club (Editor: Arno Safran) 

Regional Clubs
  • First Place: The California Numismatist, joint publication of the California State Numismatic Association and the Numismatic Association of Southern California (Editor: Greg Burns) 
  • Second Place: The MichMatist, Michigan State Numismatic Society (Editor: Michael C. Strub) 
  • Third Place (tie): The TNA News, Texas Numismatic Association (Editor: Ron Kersey); and Winning Ways, Women in Numismatics (Editor: Katie Heinrich) 

Specialty Clubs
  • First Place: Casino Chip and Token News, Casino Chip and Gaming Token Collectors Club (Editor: Allan Anderson) 
  • Second Place: International Bank Note Society Journal, International Bank Note Society (Editor: Owen W. Linzmayer) 
  • Third Place (tie): Curry’s Chronicle, Carson City Coin Collectors of America (Editor: Rusty Goe); and Paper Money, Society of Paper Money Collectors (Editor: Fred L. Reed III) 

Electronic Newsletters
  • First Place: “The E-Gobrecht,” Liberty Seated Collectors Club (Editor: Bill Bugert) 
  • Second Place: “Dallas Coin Club Newsletter,” Dallas Coin Club (Editor: Kathy Lawrence) 
  • Third Place: “The Double Shift,” Greater Houston Coin Club (Editor: John Barber) 

Originally Release Date: August 18, 2008
ANA Contacts: Phone: 719-482-9814
Return to top